We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Pizza and Waitstaff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of John's Best Pizza - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
John's Best Pizza
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza and Waitstaff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a favorite and staple of the area. We have been going here for years, have eaten at the restaurant and also pick oup meals and pizza to take home. This is a comfortable casual restaurant with good choices and attentive waitstaff. My favorite here is the Penne Pasta with Vodka sauce. It has a good amount of ham and onions in it and the portion is sizeable and always enough to take home leftovers. It is served with a side salad and warm bread. Really Good!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NorwalkCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
westport, ct, usa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“soggy, greasy pizza, lousy sauce”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What can I say? It is but a hop and a skip from my house, yet it has served me some of the worst pizza I have ever eaten. Soggy, greasy with sauce from a jar. How could they make a pizza even worse? With Westport pizza, Bang Bang pizza and Bartucci's pizza offering much better pie, I wonder how they stay in business.

Helpful?
Thank staratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Food and portions are great. Service is very friendly and low key. View the beautiful ficus tree inside the restaurant. We eat there every time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
843 reviews
632 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good tasting Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at John's Best. I ordered the dinner special (I chose chicken marsala) which came with lots of food and choices. It included an appetizer, salad, entree, coffee and dessert. The portions were generous and I brought leftovers home. The wait staff was very attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,731 reviews
1,047 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The menu has a good selection for everyone. The renovations that was done made the place nicer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Best Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing