We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas and Sangria, ahhhhhh”

Barcelona Wine Bar Waypointe
Ranked #18 of 394 Restaurants in Norwalk
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1996, the original Barcelona, South Norwalk, has grown from a tiny tapas bar seating 30 to a 140-seat restaurant with two sophisticated, beautiful dining rooms and an outdoor patio. The original 40-foot-long, hand-carved walnut bar is still there, as are the young and young-at-heart who populate South Norwalk in the evenings. SoNo Barcelona showcases the old brick and raw steel of the former factory building it inhabits. It's a touch of SoHo in SoNo, with the food and flavors of the Ramblas.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tapas and Sangria, ahhhhhh”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, fun atmosphere, great food and yummy desserts. Tapas, small plates and a wonderful wine list. Give it a try

Helpful?
Thank PJBSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    58
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant. Great food, wine, service and atmosphere! A place to relax in a good setting! Very enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherThackray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The service, atmosphere, and wine all excellent. The small plates were incredible! Highly recommend the hangar steak, cauliflower, and short ribs!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank djansen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stopped in on a whim and we are glad we did. The variety of Tapas was excellent and the wine list is not to be believed! Our young server was eager to please with explanations of all of the dishes. After about 10 different tapas, we were ready for some dessert and it it did not disappoint. With wide variety in taste, we were both able to find something that we loved and the atmosphere was hopping with a great latin jazz band jammin in the corner of the bar. Will definitely return and try the other locations closer to home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Underwhelming.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Barcelona Wine Bar is a duel of contrasts: a nicely decorated little place with a ton of character - and, unfortunately, some below average food and worse service. IMO, the #3 top restaurant in Norwalk could do a lot better.

SERVICE. In the course of a Sunday night meal that took 75 minutes from start to finish, I saw my waitress twice: once when ordering, and once when paying (had to ask for the check repeatedly). My tapas were brought out by the kitchen staff - not in pairs (as suggested by the waitress), but one by one, which subtracted from the whole tapas experience. Some of the food was extremely rich and could have used bread to go with it (also suggested by the waitress, but never seen on the table).

FOOD. The Albondigas (Meatballs in Tomato Sauce) were quite clearly microwaved - two out of the five were cold. The Beef Empanadas looked great but tasted like they were made at Taco Bell (yes, really). The Roasted Cauliflower was quite good, along with the Wild Mushrooms a la Plancha (enter the lamentable lack of bread and the fact that each dish was brought out individually).

CHECK. $46 (before tip) for four tapas, one glass of wine, and one bottle water ($7 by itself) might be too steep for some. I know it was for me.

BOTTOM LINE. A cute, somewhat overpriced place that thinks itself too trendy to pay attention to consistently good food and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abai97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Wine Bar Waypointe also viewed

 

Been to Barcelona Wine Bar Waypointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing