We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly maintained”
Review of Courtyard Norwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Norwalk
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I've never filled out a comment card to send into the corporate office before staying at the Norwalk Courtyard. The rooms had light bulbs that were out, the hallways had light fixtures hanging off the ceiling, paint was flaking off in the bathroom, doors did not lock properly.... Not acceptable.

Breakfast was acceptable. The made to order eggs were a nice touch but slow to come out.

The pool was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Norwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 338 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2009

This hotel was located in the business section of Norwalk,CT. So, it was conveniently located. This is a typical courtyard Marriott, except I found the cleaniness of my room left much to be desired. Also, the front desk was lax in taking care of the lobby. There was a very big group of people in the lobby on this particular evening, coffee cups by the coffee area was gone, freebies like candy was low in supply, and trash was overspilling from the trash cans. I told them about it, and the front desk acknowledged it, but wasn't quick to remove these problems. I did complain about these problems to Marriott, so I hope management took care of it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I have not a single bad thing to say about this hotel...I have only good things to say!

Staff - Excellent, friendly, kind, pleasant!
Rooms - Clean, large, inviting and stylish and crisp!
Beds were just perfect - there were 5 pillows on each queen a mix of feather and Poly...Most times you have to call for one or the other!

Ample free parking.

Well lit and secure building

AC system was so quiet I forgot that it was working.

This hotel well merits an excellent rating and I highly recommend staying here for business or with the family.

As a foot note there is a Taco Bell next door Mc D's less than a km away and Walmart close by as well. It is also easily accessable by route 7 that is right there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank John_the_travel_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

The Marriott website has this hotel listed as "brand new", but it is definitely not. It's not dirty or very old-looking, but to call it new would be pushing it.

They seem to be understaffed. There was a wait to check in, but the front desk staff of one was very nice.

Everything was surprisingly clean. Not sparkling clean, but above average-hotel-clean. ;) There were no odors and no mold or mildew, and that goes a long way with me.

My biggest complaint about this property (and the chain in general lately) is a lack of attention to detail. Marriott used to be the "go-to" chain for my family, but it seems to be cutting lots of corners. There was a horrible repair job done to the ceiling in the bathroom...it looked like they gave a five year old a tub of spackle and told him to fix it.

I was not amused by the $2 bottles of water in the convenience refrigerator next to the front desk. There was also no complimentary continental breakfast.

Still, I'd probably stay there again just because it didn't leave me feeling like I needed to take another shower as soon as I left.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daynasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

I am a regular visitor to the Courtyard for my visits to a commercial lending firm located nearby. The Courtyard took an old property and renovated it a couple of years ago, but the property is due for an upgrade. The workout facilities are small and some of the machines are in disrepair.

The air conditioning are old-style blower rather than central air. You don't select a temperature rather than putting the dial on a scale of blue-to-red. The hallways this summer smelled of mildew, though this was not an issue inside the rooms. Rooms are standard with plenty of room to stretch out on the sofa.

Staff have always been courteous, but they stopped the honor system of the evening bar. This is an okay place for a short trip in Norwalk, but its basics for the Courtyard brand.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

It was a basic hotel stay. The balcony overlooking the courtyard was nice since it could have easily been a view of the street or parking lot. The room was very average (Room 246). Checking in and out was easy but my room initially did not have a refrigerator as advertised on their website. I had to call the front desk to request one. After a few minutes, the refrigerator was delivered and placed under the sink. We needed it to store milk for our 2yr old son. If it wasn't for the free breakfast that was included in our rate, I think that I would have been really disappointed. The surrounding area was nice. There is a great fish and chips place down the street, just make a left when exiting the hotel. That was the highlight of our trip. Overall, our stay at the Courtyard Norwalk was decent. Nothing to brag about. I would try other hotels before staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk9279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Our family of 5 are big users of the Marriott hotels, especially the Courtyards and the Residence Inns, so this suited us well. The hotel met our expectations - large lobby and lounge area, with a business area, including coffee, tea and cocoa self service. The room was clean and comfortable. It also had a balcony that faced into the courtyard - that was a nice unexpected little bonus. The internet service in the rooms worked well for us, because we alway bring a laptop with us. Our target destination was Compo Beach in Westport. After spending the day at the beach, some of us continued the evening with a dip in the indoor pool. The the reception area could have used more staff, because the lady there, while very pleasant and courteous, was very busy with guest inquiries, among other duties. There is a computer in the business area of the lobby which was always in use. As out of state visitors, we enjoyed the little side trips to Stew Leonard's and the Maritime Aquarium.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank TravelBugMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwalk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
2.6 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Norwalk - Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norwalk

Address: 474 Main Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851-1037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwalk
#3 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range: $137 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Norwalk is located in the heart of the business district, and convenient to several businesses, White Plains Airport (HPN) and the Metro North-South Norwalk train station. Our comfortable guest rooms and suites feature luxury bedding, thick mattresses and inviting spaces for work or relaxation. Our spacious, open lobby features comfy lounge areas with televisions, and we offer free WiFi throughout the hotel so you'll never feel tied to your room. Enjoy easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our interactive lobby GoBoard. Our on-site restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings for breakfast and dinner as well as Starbucks beverages and an evening bar with beer, wine and cocktails. Courtyard Norwalk hotel is just minutes to the Maritime Aquarium and historic SoNo, and less than an hour away from NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott - Norwalk, Ct Hotel Norwalk
Marriott Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk Ct
Norwalk Courtyard
Norwalk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing