We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Vacation!”

Sheffield Island Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Norwalk Seaport Association has owned, restored and maintained Sheffield Island Lighthouse since 1986 and is the official U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Friends group for the Norwalk Islands.Sheffield Island with its historic 145-year-old lighthouse, beaches and wildlife refuge offers abundant summer fun for visitors. From May through September, visitors can board the Seaport Association's 45-foot C.J. Toth catamaran for a cruise to the island then tour the lighthouse, observe wildlife in their natural habitat in the Stewart B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge, hunt for shells along the beach, dine on a picnic lunch, play on the lawns around the lighthouse and just have a good time. The lighthouse tower provides magnificent views of Long Island Sound and, on a clear day, of the New York City skyline. Join us for one of the most exciting tours that the Norwalk Harbor Islands area has to offer! During this unforgettable adventure tour of Sheffield Island and Lighthouse, you'll step directly from the boat into the past.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We took our twin 8 year-old on this little adventure and we all loved it! The staff was so knowledgeable and informative, particularly Danny. Really enjoyed learning about the history of the area and exploring the island. They had games set up for folks to play with and a cool little tour of the lighthouse. Tent covered picnic area offered a nice respite from the sun. Definitely want to go back for the clambake and will pack a cooler for the next visit!

Thank Picknpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nature trail"
in 25 reviews
"boat ride"
in 41 reviews
"day trip"
in 27 reviews
"light house"
in 16 reviews
"clambake"
in 6 reviews
"hot dogs"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful trip"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 11 reviews
"small concession stand"
in 3 reviews
"long island sound"
in 11 reviews
"bring your camera"
in 3 reviews
"tour guide"
in 8 reviews
"li sound"
in 4 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"collecting shells"
in 3 reviews
"norwalk river"
in 3 reviews
"maritime aquarium"
in 6 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Yesterday we came on this tour with a large family group, what a great way to spend an afternoon on the water, enjoying history and nature. John and Greg and their crew are friendly and helpful and make you feel that you are visiting their own home. The island is beautiful and kept clean. Lighthouse tour was short but interesting. Plenty of clean and covered picnic space, as well as corn hole and volleyball. Lots of space to explore the walking trail and seashore. Recommend that you come with a group, bring a picnic, and bug spray.

2  Thank Tracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We took the boat to Sheffield Island Lighthouse today. The guide on the boat was excellent, pointing out interesting things throughout the entire ride. Once on the island, there is little to do. Our guide in the house knew very little. She may have been a trainee. The stairs to the top of the house are under construction. The mosquitoes were terrible. I think that children would be totally bored.

Thank WatchDog_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopiacsp, Guest Relations Manager at Sheffield Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

The mosquitoes are up to mother nature. We are mindful of this and maintain it with a "green" mentality, careful to not use any chemicals to disturb the environment. We do offer gratis bug repellent.

We state in all of our listings... "The lighthouse is open to visitors for daily tours, however, the tower section of the lighthouse is closed for renovations."

We offer the following activities Nature Trail, lighthouse tour, volleyball, badminton, corn hole, checkers, sights and sounds of Long Island Sound.

One of the most sought after activities is always available... rest and relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We read a bunch of reviews and our trip did not reflect what we read. It was about 97 degrees so this may have affected some of the trip. The mosquitoes were horrible and they ran out of bug spray. We had 90mminutes on the island and only needed about 45 max. The reviews we read mentioned a narration on the boat ride for much of the ride. We heard about 10 minutes worth. The staff were friendly but they were also hot.

1  Thank VerbBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopiacsp, Guest Relations Manager at Sheffield Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

As a non-profit organization, relying primarily on our volunteers to preserve the heritage of Sheffield Island Lighthouse, we are sorry that your expectations weren't met.

As a historical site on an island, we are challenged to bring the beauty to our visitors without compromising the historical value.

The mosquitoes and the heat are up to mother nature. We are mindful of this and maintain it with a "green" mentality, careful to not use any chemicals to disturb the environment.

Please accept our apologies. We hope that you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

The boat trip out to the island was relaxing and informative. However, on arrival at the island we were infested with mosquitos. I’ve never seen so many mosquitos on my body at once. It was not a pleasant experience and I highly recommend smothering yourself in DEET - these mosquitos draw blood. Needless to say we spent the entire time roasting on the beach (to get away from the mosquitos )which was pleasant but we were left a little disappointed about not being told about the severity of these mosquitos. Be warned.

Thank Wardal2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Island Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Sheffield Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing