We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day Trip”

Sheffield Island Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Norwalk Seaport Association has owned, restored and maintained Sheffield Island Lighthouse since 1986 and is the official U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Friends group for the Norwalk Islands.Sheffield Island with its historic 145-year-old lighthouse, beaches and wildlife refuge offers abundant summer fun for visitors. From May through September, visitors can board the Seaport Association's 45-foot C.J. Toth catamaran for a cruise to the island then tour the lighthouse, observe wildlife in their natural habitat in the Stewart B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge, hunt for shells along the beach, dine on a picnic lunch, play on the lawns around the lighthouse and just have a good time. The lighthouse tower provides magnificent views of Long Island Sound and, on a clear day, of the New York City skyline. Join us for one of the most exciting tours that the Norwalk Harbor Islands area has to offer! During this unforgettable adventure tour of Sheffield Island and Lighthouse, you'll step directly from the boat into the past.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wow! If you're looking for a great way to spend a summer afternoon, look no further. The Lighthouse is immaculately preserved and the island is a cute little gem. The tour lasts approximately an hour and a half. There are picnic tables, food and chips for purchase and a quaint nature trail. Pack a picnic, and enjoy a great day overlooking the water. I can't wait to return.

2  Thank Cherisse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nature trail"
in 25 reviews
"boat ride"
in 43 reviews
"day trip"
in 30 reviews
"light house"
in 16 reviews
"bug spray"
in 7 reviews
"hot dogs"
in 6 reviews
"pirates weekend"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful trip"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 11 reviews
"small concession stand"
in 3 reviews
"bring your camera"
in 3 reviews
"long island sound"
in 10 reviews
"great summer"
in 3 reviews
"li sound"
in 4 reviews
"collecting shells"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 5 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 4 reviews
Filter

219 - 223 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Fun, great length ferry ride out the island. Good discussion with ferry driver on history. Able to leisurely walk around island/lighthouse. Can picnic there, also great place to just read/get away from other people, so hard to find a serene location not over run by tourists now-a-days!

1  Thank TravelFoodLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The trip out and the tour of the lighthouse is always fun. Learn the history of the lighthouse. Spend some time on the water. Enjoy the view of the Norwalk islands. On a clear day you can see Manhattan.

1  Thank sdccsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a treasure in Norwalk, amazing views, food was plentiful and fun was had by all- looking forward to next year

Thank Abp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I highly discourage anyone from attending the "clam bake" on Sheffield Island put on by Norwalk Seaport Association. I cannot call it a clam bake as we received 4 bowls of empty shells.
Advertised - steamer bag of clams, mussels, corn on cob...." yet we were last in line to hear "oh, we are out of clams and mussels". After talking to a person in charge, they found us 6 mussels to share between 4 of us. Main course is pre-ordered - though we ordered 2 lobsters, they only had one for us.
On the island, the lighthouse keeper and ferry captain were very sympathetic, provided contact information, wanted to hear how this was resolved. the next day, we got a call from the office - for a full refund. We wanted to be reasonable and suggested rather than them losing money, just refund half our 300.00+ bill. She was going to call me back on Monday (that was Friday). Tuesday, I called and got, oh no, you misunderstood. I talked to boat captain and he expressed outrage - he stated he talked to the persident of association and the lady had been told FULL refund. Heard nothing. emailed captain twice, no answer, talked to lighthouse keeper, he was "outraged". bottom line, last night they told us they are refunding one meal and price of ferry to island (nice, considering that was all part of the price of meal). Bottom line - nice people, nice island, they appear to me to be out only for money and do not care about their customer. Great at lip service, and from what the cook told us, this is a frequent occurence. No followthrough and their words mean nothing to me. Very disappointed in evening and the following events.

4  Thank cabinetman0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopiacsp, Trustee at Sheffield Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We never, ever want to disappoint you or any of our Sheffield Island Clambake guests. As a nonprofit, all of our volunteers remain committed to our mission to preserve and share our maritime heritage. Our summer clambakes are just one way we can share our historic lighthouse and island with our community. We offer a full menu at the clambakes, including seafood, sides and dessert. Very rarely, clams are not available on these evenings, so our chef offers mussels instead. As you mentioned, we did provide you with a refund of your full ticket. We hope you will give us a chance to restore you confidence in and appreciation of what we do and why we do it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Island Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Sheffield Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing