We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Norwalk, incredible views, Clambake and staff were delightful”

Sheffield Island Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Norwalk Seaport Association has owned, restored and maintained Sheffield Island Lighthouse since 1986 and is the official U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Friends group for the Norwalk Islands.Sheffield Island with its historic 145-year-old lighthouse, beaches and wildlife refuge offers abundant summer fun for visitors. From May through September, visitors can board the Seaport Association's 45-foot C.J. Toth catamaran for a cruise to the island then tour the lighthouse, observe wildlife in their natural habitat in the Stewart B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge, hunt for shells along the beach, dine on a picnic lunch, play on the lawns around the lighthouse and just have a good time. The lighthouse tower provides magnificent views of Long Island Sound and, on a clear day, of the New York City skyline. Join us for one of the most exciting tours that the Norwalk Harbor Islands area has to offer! During this unforgettable adventure tour of Sheffield Island and Lighthouse, you'll step directly from the boat into the past.
1 review
“Oasis in Norwalk, incredible views, Clambake and staff were delightful”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a treasure in Norwalk, amazing views, food was plentiful and fun was had by all- looking forward to next year

Visited September 2013
Thank Abp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clam bake yielded 0 clams”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I highly discourage anyone from attending the "clam bake" on Sheffield Island put on by Norwalk Seaport Association. I cannot call it a clam bake as we received 4 bowls of empty shells.
Advertised - steamer bag of clams, mussels, corn on cob...." yet we were last in line to hear "oh, we are out of clams and mussels". After talking to a person in charge, they found us 6 mussels to share between 4 of us. Main course is pre-ordered - though we ordered 2 lobsters, they only had one for us.
On the island, the lighthouse keeper and ferry captain were very sympathetic, provided contact information, wanted to hear how this was resolved. the next day, we got a call from the office - for a full refund. We wanted to be reasonable and suggested rather than them losing money, just refund half our 300.00+ bill. She was going to call me back on Monday (that was Friday). Tuesday, I called and got, oh no, you misunderstood. I talked to boat captain and he expressed outrage - he stated he talked to the persident of association and the lady had been told FULL refund. Heard nothing. emailed captain twice, no answer, talked to lighthouse keeper, he was "outraged". bottom line, last night they told us they are refunding one meal and price of ferry to island (nice, considering that was all part of the price of meal). Bottom line - nice people, nice island, they appear to me to be out only for money and do not care about their customer. Great at lip service, and from what the cook told us, this is a frequent occurence. No followthrough and their words mean nothing to me. Very disappointed in evening and the following events.

Visited August 2013
4 Thank cabinetman0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopiacsp, Trustee at Sheffield Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We never, ever want to disappoint you or any of our Sheffield Island Clambake guests. As a nonprofit, all of our volunteers remain committed to our mission to preserve and share our maritime heritage. Our summer clambakes are just one way we can share our historic lighthouse and island with our community. We offer a full menu at the clambakes, including seafood, sides and dessert. Very rarely, clams are not available on these evenings, so our chef offers mussels instead. As you mentioned, we did provide you with a refund of your full ticket. We hope you will give us a chance to restore you confidence in and appreciation of what we do and why we do it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Day !”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

First take ferry ride out to island - beautiful day, beautiful ride. Once on the island thers a lighthouse to tour and walking trails. We were there after Sandy and most of the trails had been cleared. Tables available for lunch - under a huge tent.Clean outhouses(didn't really notice they were outhouses

Visited August 2013
5 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I Love Lighthouses!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The boat ride out to this lighthouse was educational, beautiful and just fun. Once we arrived at the island, we were greeted by Pirates who made it very entertaining for the young and the old. Our tour guide while in the lighthouse was Greg, and he was just a delight. I recommend this Lighthouse and trail.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome day”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I love going on the ferry ride to Sheffield Island. I love lighthouses and enjoyed the historic talk about the lighthouse and island by the light keeper. The only problem was I forgot bug spray so I had several mosquito bites, but with insect repellant it would be fine. I cannot wait to go back again before the nd of the season!

Visited August 2013
1 Thank patty7760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Island Lighthouse also viewed


Been to Sheffield Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing