We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and serene”

Sheffield Island Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Norwalk Seaport Association has owned, restored and maintained Sheffield Island Lighthouse since 1986 and is the official U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Friends group for the Norwalk Islands.Sheffield Island with its historic 145-year-old lighthouse, beaches and wildlife refuge offers abundant summer fun for visitors. From May through September, visitors can board the Seaport Association's 45-foot C.J. Toth catamaran for a cruise to the island then tour the lighthouse, observe wildlife in their natural habitat in the Stewart B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge, hunt for shells along the beach, dine on a picnic lunch, play on the lawns around the lighthouse and just have a good time. The lighthouse tower provides magnificent views of Long Island Sound and, on a clear day, of the New York City skyline. Join us for one of the most exciting tours that the Norwalk Harbor Islands area has to offer! During this unforgettable adventure tour of Sheffield Island and Lighthouse, you'll step directly from the boat into the past.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I made a special trip to visit the Sheffield Island Lighthouse on a side trip from New York City. It was definitely worth the trip and money. The ferry ride had a tour guide that pointed out local history on the way to the island. The island itself was beautiful and serene with plenty of staff to answer questions about the lighthouse, wildlife, and history of the island. The staff was courteous and went out of their way to provide hospitality on an island that they loved. I would highly recommend Sheffield Island as an afternoon outing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosierjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalkseaport, Trustee at Sheffield Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to the Sheffield Island Lighthouse and Nature Trail. I have passed your review on to the management and staff. Not only do reviews like yours promote the Island... it is also a big boost to the people that work there to be recognized for a job well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    50
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple Pleasures”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If what you seek is a few hours on a small island with grass and trees and a lighthouse and the smell of salt water just to get away from it all for a bit, you can actually do that on Sheffield Island, Norwalk. There is a ferry that will take you out there (and bring you back). Pack your sunblock and a lunch and take a keep-it-simple mini-vacation without having to first get on a plane to someplace with a funny sounding name.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clambake is great!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Each summer between late June and mid-August they offer a clambake on excursion to Sheffield Island that leaves the dock at 5:30. It's a really nice evening. Book prior to the night you want to go so you can select from the menu. I've had the salmon and lobster, the chef and crew grill your dinner on the island when you get out there. There is a small lighthouse to tour, and a nature trail. The island has deer even though you wouldn't think so since it is small so beware of ticks when you return (that's the only concern). I've gone two years in a row and highly recommend it. The food is very good, we bring our own adult beverages but there is lemonaid and water with the meal. Picnic tables are set up under a tent in case the weather isn't great but we've been extremely lucky with that.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank we3fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing trip”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the Sheffield Island Lighthouse tour. Unfortunately, we were not able to climb up into the light tower due to construction. We did enjoy the Nature Trial. It was an amazing experience. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dariakny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A total turn off”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were really disappointed at the quality of the island and the $49 we spent for two adults and 1 year old. Everything is in very bad conditions. Nothing compared to what they advertised. I don't know if we did not like it because the night before rained but there was a lot of mold, not too much green and the snack shop they advertised had only chips and soda. Be prepared to spend close to two hours there and bring something to eat because as I told you there is only sodas and chips. If you are bringing toddlers with strollers be ready to be bored because is difficult to ride the stroller there.
The only good thing about it was the shuttle ride and the $1 price for the chips and soda. They should invest more in the island to make it more attractive.
May 26, 2012

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NoemiNunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalkseaport, Guest Relations Manager at Sheffield Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
As a non-profit organization, relying primarily on our volunteers to preserve the heritage of Sheffield Island, we are sorry that your expectations weren't met.  As a historical site on an island, we are challenged to bring the beauty to our visitors without compromising the historical value. The conditions of the grounds are up to Mother Nature, for the most part. We are mindful of this and maintain it with a "green" mentality, careful to not use any chemicals to disturb the environment. The snack bar has a limited selection based on our ability to stock and maintain a concession on an island. Thanks to a grant from the Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development, we are completing a $250,000 project to repoint, repair and paint the 144-year-old lighthouse. Please accept our apologies. We hope that you consider a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Island Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Sheffield Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing