We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting on the Beach in Norwalk”

Ripka's Beach Cafe &.
Ranked #102 of 459 Restaurants in Norwalk
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Hey, it's a snack bar in a great beach location. Whole belly clams and chowder are pretty good. They have beer, a kid's menu and outdoor seating. Even ice cream. Could be better, but worth hanging out at the beach.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ernjack1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

With all of the positive reviews I was expecting a lot more. Prices were ok. Food was mediocre. Service was terrible. The staff who were all teenagers didn’t appear to have any adults nearby and acted like...well teens. Service was slow, unfriendly and when part of my meal was missing and I let them know, all 5 of them gathered around, gave me the stink eye and begrudgingly offered to make up for the missing food. 20 minutes later, I left. The food wasn’t good enough to wait that long especially at 2:00 in the afternoon after peak hours.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Q5054OEsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

The place looks like a beach cafe except they have tables, a tent in summer with Jazz on Fridays, Great food like try their fried oysters, their beach burger (outstanding) or their Lobster roll. PLUS they have Wine!! and they have a GREAT VIEW!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank avstrait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Fast and friendly, well organized, pleasant staff. Appreciated the raw bar offerings. Nice to grab some oysters and clams and take them to eat outside with a view of the water. Not the cheapest.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelCA-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017

For two decades we have lived within 5 miles of Ripka's and only this Fall have discovered what we've been missing. We returned for our second delicious brunch with friends. Set on the beach overlooking the Long island Sound, Ripka's has a remarkably broad menu for an informal place with cocktail tables. A true New England lobster shack, with live lobster in the tank or, if you prefer, delicious lobster rolls. Best fried oysters in the area. Lobster and oyster omelettes were superb each stuffed with fresh fish; there must have been 8-9 fresh oysters in my omelette, finished off with a touch of goat cheese. Mussels were meaty and cooked in a delicate rosemary broth that we sopped up with our garlic toast. Truffle frites were perfect. A "lobsticle" came out as a huge lobster tail fried in tempura batter. Muffins, cakes superb. Coffee excellent. We are already planning to come back. Make sure to call before to make sure they're open as winter access can be dicey if there's snow on the ground. Only complaint: On one of the coldest days of the year the heat was on the fritz but we dined with coats on and were in heaven. Kids will enjoy the pet squirrels outside!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripka's Beach Cafe &. also viewed

 

Been to Ripka's Beach Cafe &.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing