We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of EL Acapulco

EL Acapulco
Ranked #229 of 390 Restaurants in Norwalk
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The plates are hot. The enchiladas are delicious. The rice and beans are also good and so are the non alcoholic beverages. X rating 4.5

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnX269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Every Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's a family owned restaurant in the heart of Sono. Great service, great food and drinks. Definitely would recommend :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lcuevas915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic regional Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like Mexican dishes, then this is a great place to get authentic regional Mexican food that miles beyond many "Americanized" Mexican dishes that we all-to-easily settle for. I get the three cheese enchilada special with rice and beans, along with black bean soup and a side dish of pico de gallo. There is rice and beans and then there is the authentic Mexican way to make this dish and these guys know exactly what they are doing. Oh, try the chips, they are the bast I've ever had!

The restaurant has been around SONO for at least 30 years and is owned by the same Mexican couple, whose two sons, a daughter in law, a daughter and her husband the chef, help run the place.

The owners and wait staff are always very friendly and accommodating. Since I always get the same thing, I'm just reviewing my selection but when we take people with us to dinner I never hear a complaint so that's why the 5 stars.

Prices are very good and wait time on the order is short. We were there this past Cinco De Mayo and even as crowded as it was the wait time was not to bad. These guys hustle for you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jessejames4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Block Island, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My family has been going to the Alcupulco for probably 30 years and its the first stop I have to make when I get back in town. Nothing fancy, just good Mexican food. The best part is the 50 or so combinations to choose from for entrees, although I always seem to order the same thing and a pitcher of margaritas is a must of course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kikionisland02807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best authentic Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for years. They have the best enchiladas you will get anywhere. Delicious taste, whether you get the beef, chicken or cheese served bubbling hot. I have yet to find a good, decent enchilada anywhere. Prices are very reasonable. Family owned and always very nice. Lets keep them in business for years to come:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccamarie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL Acapulco also viewed

 

Been to EL Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing