We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good room but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in July 2013. Parts of the hotel were undergoing refurbishment so there was some disruption. On the positive side, we had a good night's sleep in a clean and comfortable room. On the negative side, I later discovered that I was double-charged for the stay; and I have still not received a refund. The admin staff either do not pick up the phone; do not respond to email/voicemail messages; and when you do reach someone, they show desire to resolve the issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    235
    63
    22
    15
See reviews for
200
106
39
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Unrotunately, the hotel was going through a renovation. Even with this occurring, the building was very clean and the work being done was away from the reception area. The staff was very pleasant.and helpful with checking in. Only stayed one night as we attended a NY Yankees game. Room was clean and the staff was sure to put our room away from a group staying for a wedding. Breakfast was also very good as well

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris3881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have stayed here four times over the last two months. Great staff, good value and close to my office. Easy to get to from the Merritt Parkway. The food is pretty good- especially the flatbreads. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank dsmith1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilder, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Clean, Bright and great staff. I highly reccomend it. I ordered room service and it was really quick and delicious. It's a good location, near everything. The staff offered to give me an umbrella I borrowed to get my car. That was nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good hotel that is clean and comfortable hotel. Excellent buffet breakfast available. The renovations were nearly complete and looked really good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night as we were travelling up the I95 from Newark airport to providence RI. If in the area would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

For those of you who have read my reviews; they clearly tend towards tropical resorts after some of my vacation trips.
As a business traveler for the last 23 years, its however worth noting that I have had a LOT of experience staying at various Non-resort properties. I tend towards the Marriott and Hilton chains when traveling on business. With that said; I have stayed at the above property off and on (usually 8-12 nights per year) for well over 15 years.
I have noticed one consistent thing over this entire time period; a very friendly and helpful staff.
This may seem like a not very big deal; but as a harried business traveler, sometimes a friendly smile and and the willingness to go above and beyond a bit makes all the difference.

Why note it at this property above others I stay at; because for 15 years, its never seemed to fail. I'm not sure who the GM is at this property; but he or she must be doing something to keep their staff happy. Whatever it is; keep it up!

(and keep the cookies coming!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txgerman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having read the reviews of others who stayed during the renovations, I have to admit I was a little nervous. Was able to check in through the front door. The lobby / breakfast area looks great. There were a few weddings going on, so the clerk (very friendly) placed us in a room away from "Wedding Traffic" It worked as I was never disturbed. Loved the bed. It had a knob on the side of the mattress at the head of the bed which allowed me to control the firmness of the mattress. Slept very well. I understand the concerns regarding the parking lot lighting. Appear to be low wattage bulbs, but they worked fine. One light would go on and then off. The HVAC unit worked well, nice and cool for a good night's sleep. As the new amenities are placed in the room, the staff needs to make sure they are plugged in. Fridge was, TV was not. I took care of it. Room was very clean. Appreciated the "refresh" in the room. The blow dryer worked to my needs. My family visit was great and so was my stay at the HGI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwalk hotels
0.7 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#2 of 12 in Norwalk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
2.9 mi away
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Norwalk - Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
Address: 560 Main Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851-1038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Norwalk
#4 Family Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning Hilton Garden Inn is within walking distance to Merritt 7 Corporate Park, Towers Building, i-park Norwalk and Glover Avenue. Easy access to I-95 and Merritt Parkway. Gym exercise equipment with personal TV Theater System, 24-hour business center, complimentary internet, restaurant, bar and room Service daily, 170 rooms with Garden Sleep System™ bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, MP3 clocks, Herman Miller ergonomic chair, desk, fridge, microwave, hairdryer, pool, whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk Hotel Norwalk
Norwalk Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing