We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for kids”

Stepping Stones Museum for Children
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stepping Stones Museum for Children ignites a child's love of learning through play. Open your world to our hands-on exhibits and exciting programs. With our five main galleries and over 100 hands-on activities, children become wide-eyed with wonder. As they see, hear, touch, feel and do, their ever-growing minds venture to amazing new places. Our Traveling Exhibit Gallery changes every few months so you can always expect new and fascinating adventures. Stepping Stones mission is to broaden and enrich the educational opportunities for children ages ten and under and to enhance their understanding of the world. The museum seeks to create an environment that inspires lifelong learning and supports parents, caregivers and educators as facilitators of children's explorations. Stepping Stones is open daily between Memorial Day and Labor Day, and CLOSED Mondays between Labor Day and Memorial Day (School Year Hours) Hours are 10:00 am - 5:00 pm.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great place for kids... Lots of fun and interactive games and toys. Fun water play area.... They provide raincoats but kids can still get quite wet so I recommend bringing a change of clothes just in case.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tabeth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    56
    24
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New and Improved!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

There is lots to do to keep young hands and minds busy. Many attractions, places for them to run around, lots of learning going on. Big open spaces. Beautifully maintained. New exhibits. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdccsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for small children”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a really fun time here. My 7 month old and 2 year old played the entire time, and both had their favorites that they kept going back to. This place isn't huge, and only really has like 6 exhibits. I wouldn't plan on spending more than 2 or 3 hours here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrWizard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Paradise for grandparents looking to entertain the grandchildren”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were looking for somewhere for an energetic, inquisitive three year old and found it at Stepping Stones. Such a variety of innovative, inventive and classic activities for children of all ages, and our grandson, who goes regularly with his parents, rushed straight into the various activities on offer. We managed to avoid the water area (being cowards) but it was being enjoyed by lots of tots in plastic aprons. The building area was the attraction for our grandson who lives for diggers and tractors. A lovely afternoon where we had nothing to do but watch all the children having fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and funny”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took my one year old nephew to Stepping Stones. We were not sure he would get much out of it but were pleasantly surprised. He enjoyed the indoor play area at his level. It was crowded but all the kids (and parents) were well behaved. It was the wet room that really made his day. Even with the too cute rain coat he was outfitted with he was soaked from head to toe. He loved it and we laughed. Pew had lunch in the cafe which was nice. After lunch we went to the outdoor play area. Again, he had a great time and kept us laughing. Take your little ones and enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stepping Stones Museum for Children also viewed

 

Been to Stepping Stones Museum for Children? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing