We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated by Zagat”

Basso Cafe Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #66 of 396 Restaurants in Norwalk
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An exciting blend of Mediterranean fusion and world flavours has won Basso Cafe Restaurant & Bar in Norwalk praise from The New York Times. Irresistible homemade pasta creations and tender meat recipes sit alongside flavours of Latin America and the Orient, with a dessert list that is bursting with rich, decadent treats. The full Bar offers a great handpicked selections of wine as well as crafted cocktails and beer.
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overrated by Zagat”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were urged to try this restaurant by friends who raved about the food. We checked the Zagat guide whose reviewers called is a "gem" and gave it a very high rating way up with the best places in the state. Usually Zagat is pretty accurate but in this case it was at least four points to high. The space is cramped with tables oddly placed and close together with uncomfortable chairs.The nicest thing that could be said about the decor is eclectic. All bearable if the food was great bit it wasn't. In fact my wife's lobster risotto was so fishy that she left much of it and my eggplant parmigiana was light but lacked much flavor. The service was pleasant but amateurish, there is no liquor license and its expensive. Why go?

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    23
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Formerly Wonderful-Not So Much Now!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I have been quiet fans of Cafe Basso for years. We live several miles away and loved its quiet neighborhood feel, the excellent food, friendly service and unusual and well prepared food (lamb two ways, chicken under a brick, tres leche cake, etc.). We have encouraged numerous friends and others to try this former gem. The food was great (albeit a bit pricey) and the BYOB aspect was appealing.

As local customers who dined there every six weeks or so and then had several month break before our most recent meal, we were quite disappointedl. Previously the corkage fee had been waived becasue the waitstaff recognized us. Not so our last go round. We brought from home a half filled bottle of wine we wanted to use up and were charged $10 for that as well as $10 for hte second bottle we "opened." The first bottle had been opened by me and the second was a screw top, nice but not expensive.

Entre prices have increased considerably since we first went there. The Restaurant is more crowded, probably due to heavy promotion thru Groupon at Costco, and the neighborhood feel has been lost. We have not returned since and we have stopped recommending it to others.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Plates are terribly small. Left hungry!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The amount of food served on the plates are terribly small for the amount of money you pay per plate. We were 5 individuals ordering 9 plates to share and we left hungry.
The food is descent but not worth going again. The waitress kept saying the plates were so large with more than enough food to share. We figured we were going to even have leftovers from the feel of it. Very false expectations. Do not recommend this place at all!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sofijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and delicious food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I go to Basso when we want to treat ourselves to a fantastic meal! We went most recently for Valentine's Day, and really enjoyed our meals. For appetizers, we ordered the roasted olives and the gnocchi, which were both great! For our entrees we got the lobster risotto and seafood linguine - fantastic! For dessert we got a chocolate lava cake (the best I've ever had!) and the special, which was a delicious profiterole! Basso is BYOB, so we brought a bottle of champagne. What a wonderful evening and what a great place!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Rare Find: A great restaurant that is also BYOB”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was looking online for local BYOB restaurants, and found a rare jewel: one that is BYOB but is also has excellent food and service! Basso Cafe in Norwalk is not a large place, with maybe 15 tables, and gets booked early. The owner greets you at the door to welcome you, and hands you off to the service staff. I was impressed that there was ample service staff, even though the place was on the small side. We were well attended! The food is delicious, freshly prepared, not huge portions, but a lot of variety. I would rather have it this way than a huge plate of mediocre food! Meats, fish, desserts were all delicious, and they have just added a tapas menu for those who like to sample a lot of different things. I had fresh empanadas as an appetizer and a sea bass entree artfully arranged over a bed of spinach and yukon gold potatoes cooked in a red wine reduction. Dessert was a molten chocolate lava cake with vanilla ice cream - yum! It was great to bring a special bottle of our own wine to enjoy without having to pay the huge premium charged for wine in a restaurant. I think they had a $10 corkage fee. The owner came by at the end to see how we liked everything - her husband is the chef. The ambiance is clean, light-filled with local artwork (much of it was done by the owner's daughter). We would definitely count this as one of best local restaurants around - the fact that it is BYOB puts icing on the cake!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basso Cafe Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Basso Cafe Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing