We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Always delicious and dependable"”
Review of Village Gourmet

Village Gourmet
Ranked #55 of 396 Restaurants in Norwalk
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Monroe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Always delicious and dependable"”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were heading down to my mother's home to stay for storm "Sandy's" arrival, and I knew that I would be cooking for my family from a gas stove for the next few days... I made the executive decision that before the big storm we should have a meal out..or at least take out. We chose Village Gourmet. They were so busy 2 nights ago but like always they greeted us with a smile and a hot meal! We had been able to enjoy it after that night and for 2 more meals. We had the dumplings, the big bowl Szechuan soup, Pork Lo Mein, and The Sauteed Green Beans and Pork. Delicious and satisfying! We eat there almost every other month when we visit my mom's place. Thank you for being there before, during, and after storm "Sandy!" As always you are dependable! It was nice to see a smiling face and a wave from the person behind the door as we passed by after the storm as the rest of the world was getting back to normal. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We eat here at least once a month. The food is fresh and well made and the portions are large. You even get a free glass of wine with your meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljoe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Norwalk”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The freshest, best Chinese in Norwalk, with daily regional cuisine specialties.
Addicted to their Vietnamese salad, that has jicama and mango.
Would give them 5-stars except that they don't deliver!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Bugs in my food and server wouldnt take my food back

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, service”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The food is very good, not great, but it gets the highest rating from me because of the value, you can bring your own wine or beer, and the service is very nice and competent. Great to have in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Village Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing