We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible will never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I never write reviews but this is how strongly I felt being in this place. We came here for a 21st birthday party we rented a presidential suite for $386 and a Sicilian suite for $286. It started off as us drinking and attempting to catch the free limo ride to foxwoods do to the fact that we were drinking. We were unable to get the free limo ride because our guests did not have a key card for the hotel and were going to charge us $20 each per card for 11 people which forced us to drive to foxwoods under the influence. As we returned to the hotel after a great night at foxwoods we decided to have a few more drinks at the hotel, you can make noise up to midnight and as soon as midnight hit we had a security guard at our door giving us 2 warnings instantly so after that happened we decided to call it a night and head to our own rooms. We ordered room service which took well over an hour for the worlds smallest pizza. The server who brought the pizza was banging on the door and was very rude and 2 minutes later yet again we have a security guard at our door with 2 more warnings and on the second warning you get a $750 fine. So the guard left and 6 of us were talking and 30 seconds later the guard shows up again and kicked us out at 3:30 in the morning drunk and an hour and thirty minutes away from home we tried to explain to them how far away we lived and that we were in no condition to drive they did not want to hear it and sent us on our way. I will never ever stay here again, if you have more then 4 people with you that like to talk don't go to the bellissmo hotel you will have a guard at your door in a matter of minutes. The walls are so paper thin the wallpaper in the presidential suite was peeling off the wall there was hair in the jacuzzi and the table was so gouged us it looked like they got it at savers. None of the ice machines or soda machines work except for one on the first floor near the help desk. Such a waste of money their motto is "we will make your stay an experience" it was definitely an experience alright.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brandonblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelCt, Manager at Bellissimo Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Valued Guest,

I was disappointed to hear about the events that transpired during your stay at our property. Fortunately, I was able to speak directly with the staff members who dealt with the situation so that I could have a full picture of exactly what took place.

Unfortunately, it seems that the main issue is the fact that not enough rooms were booked to accommodate the size of the group. Per our policy which is made very clear on our website, as well as at check-in, each guest must be registered at the property in order to stay on site as well as utilize our limousine shuttle service. The combination of the highly intoxicated state of the guests along with the unwillingness of the group to abide by the hotel’s policies caused an unfortunate situation for everyone involved.

I would like to make it very clear that the group left of their own accord. Several opportunities were given for the guests to correct the behavior that was impacting the guest rooms around them. Rather than adjusting behavior, the group chose to leave the premises. Thankfully, due to the quick action of our staff, we were able to minimize the impact to other guest rooms and did not have to impose a nose violation fine on the group.

Hopefully this helps to clarify the situation. Should you wish to discuss the details further, I would be more than happy to speak with you directly.

Yours in Hospitality,

Samuel J. Luppino
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Bellissimo Grande Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 795 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel to stay in when visiting Foxwoods. They have a free limo service and on weekends their restaurant is open. We stayed during the week and the room prices are less than half of the weekend rate. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Extremely elegant, nice, clean, and reasonably priced with easy access to and from Foxwoods. Great location for a nite out. This was the 2nd time we stayed at the Bellissimo and had a great time as the 1st. Great place for a date nite with the one you love!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisea428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Planning on attending a show at Foxwoods we simply refused to book one of their grossly overpriced & dirty dated rooms (been there, done that). After reading reviews, decided to give Bellisimo a try for we certainly had nothing to lose. Imagine our pleasant surprise to find "Starbuck's" kiosk waiting in the lobby, an impressive limo to shuttle you to the casino and a very nice over sized clean and relatively new room awaiting. These folks try hard and have much to offer for those not wanting to get "hosed". Truly, a NO BRAINER! PS - This is NOT a party hotel for those losers from the Casino - they will be booted right out + mgmt very clear on this. ALSO for a great meal go diagonally across the street to Bon Appetito - FABULOUS!!

Room Tip: If you are not accustomed to overhead noise stay on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FalWetVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelCt, Manager at Bellissimo Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our property. We greatly appreciate your comments on the value of our property - we agree that we offer a fantastic value while maintaining the highest levels of luxury accommodation. Thank you for highlighting the various aspects of your stay that you enjoyed including our complimentary limousine shuttle as well as our coffee bar in the lobby which proudly brews Starbucks Coffee.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you as our guests in the future. Please contact me personally if I can be of any assistance!

Yours in Hospitality,

Samuel J. Luppino
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Bellisimo is my pick for the best hotel to stay in Conneticut. The rooms are clean, lavish, comfortable and affordable. Also, the bedding is so comfortable and soft.They provide complimentary limo service to the Foxwoods Casino, remember to tip the drivers!! The hotel itself has everything you need for a great vacation: Pool, spa, bar and room service. We stayed in the a Venetian King with Jacuzzi, it was beautiful with flat screen on the wall. The rooms even have streaming music! Will continue to go back every year!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elacoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The nicest hotel in the mystic/casino area! Incredibly reasonable. There are so many other hotels charging so much more and the accommodations don't even come close to this hotel Jacuzzi rooms! Great atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. My hubby and I and our friends make it a habit to stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redoat427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for one night on a little casino trip with friends and would definitely stay again! We stayed in a Presidential Suite with the jacuzzi tub, it was a gorgeous and very spacious room, including the bathroom. Our limo ride to and from the casino was also fun with Neil as our driver. The only complaint I can come up with is that the limos need a little sprucing up, the lights around the ceiling were falling off and little things like that. Otherwise, a perfect night at Bellissimo and already planning the next trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coll1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
0.4 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
212 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.8 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,803 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,385 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellissimo Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellissimo Grande Hotel

Address: 411 Norwich Westerly Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range: $99 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellissimo Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellissimo Grande is a luxury boutique hotel offering 164 well appointed suites located just minutes from Foxwoods Resort & Casino, Mohegan Sun, Mystic Coast and Country, and the sandy shores of Rhode Island. The Bellissimo Grande also features a Roman-inspired indoor pool, The Spa at the Bellissimo Grande and a fitness room. For your convenience, the Tuscany Lounge and Bistro are also available on a predetermined schedule to make your stay most enjoyable. The hotel offers room service and a coffee bar brewing Starbucks Coffee daily. All suites include access to in-room movies, in-room safes, wireless internet access, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards, coffee makers and 32" LCD television. A choice of either a Tempurpedic mattress or a Pillowtop mattress is available upon your request base on availability. All of the Venetian and Presidential suites offer a two-person Jacuzzi spa. Some Presidential Roman suites offer in-room fireplaces. Complimentary limousine service to and from Foxwoods Resort Casino is available on a predetermined schedule. We want you to enjoy the ambiance of Italy in this luxury hotel. The hotel is perfect for romantic getaways, bus tours, golf groups, corporate retreats and wedding blocks. The Bellissimo Grande is conveniently located off I-95 exit 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Bellissimo Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellissimo Grande North Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing