We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get out your Wallett for a super 8 style hotel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilltop Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilltop Inn & Suites
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Get out your Wallett for a super 8 style hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2005

I was very displeased. First off the light in the bathroom was not workingt. The only light was the heater light. The room was avarage. We did not recieve our roll of quarters on check in I had to go back to the front desk and ask for them. The other BIG thing was I was quoted a price of $308 or $3??....I asked is that for the 2 nights total and the man I talked to said yes. At check out it was $789 or something like that. IT was 300 per night. The breakfast was always crouded and we could not get a seat. We took a beagle back to our room and had to through it out becuase it was like a hockey puck and went else where. We did not get a chance to use the limo service becuase we were afraid we would have to get a cab back so we took our own car witch was no big deal to us. But for the price of the hotel the room should of been better. There was dirty used gauze behind the dresser and even burn marks in the rug. The room reminded me of any normal room you would get at the Super 8 Hotel. Also the parking there is not good at all. My boyfriend has a hard time walking at times and we always had to park 1 mile away from our room one night i thought i was going to have to carry him back to the room becuase his knees kept giving out. The only time we got to park in the parking lot closes to our door was in the day time when no one was there and we came back to shower up before going to the casino.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    84
    40
    17
    24
See reviews for
26
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2005

I booked a suite at Hilltop Inn for my fiancee's birthday. I was excited about the suite and the limo service to the casino. When I arrived, my room was not booked correctly. The limosine was not impressive. I found it dirty. At check out, I stated to the receptionist that I will be paying with a different credit card than I held the room with. She told me it was not a problem. I found out the following week that Hilltop charged me twice! Once for my suite, (on the card they were not suppose to use), and again on the correct card for another room I didn't even stay in! Although in the end it was taken care of. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Stonington hotels

boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2004

This was a great hotel. Only 3 miles from foxwoods with van and limo shuttle service to the casino. The rooms were clean and very well maintened. As other viewers have written they give you tons of mints in the vanity area and table. The breakfast was the best I ever had for "included". Cereals, juices, coffee, bagels, danish, and the make your own waffled were great. I will definetly check out the jacuzzi suite next time I go. They have about 20 suites in the hotel. They also offer a spa and workout room. We got there early and were able to check in at 1:00pm which was great. You can not beat this hotel for the rate and service. Cant wait to go back.

Helpful?
8 Thank kjanet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomingdale ny 12913
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2004

we stayed at the hilltop in in north stonington ct- we had a shutte service nitely at different times to foxwoods casino-didnt win but nice time-had a great con. breakfast daily, the room was clean etc-also went to the mohegan sun casino-beatiful there-

Helpful?
4 Thank branchwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2004

My wife and I decided to head to Foxwoods for the Labor Day weekend so we wanted a hotel near by that wouldn't cost too much (more money for the casino!). We stumbled accross the Hilltop Inn while searching the internet. We got a great rate (same day) so we decided to book it. How could we go wrong? Free casino shuttle, free breakfast, and a great location. Now the website makes this place look like an upscale hotel. However, upon arrival we were greeted to a decent looking motel. The lobby was nice, 24 hour coffee and tons and tons of mints. Check in was friendly and efficient (even though they couldn't seem to find our reservation at first) and we were soon off to our room. We were assigned to a non-smoking king (as requested) which happened to be a designated handicapable room (even though we are not physically challenged). Room keys are of the electronic variety and the first thing we notice upon entering the room was the fact that the door frame was quite warped so opening and shutting the door was quite a challange. Second thing we noticed was the mints. I am not sure what the deal is with this place and mints. There were a big pile of them on the table when we walked in. The first thing I usually check out when entering a hotel room is the bathroom. This time was no exception. The bathroom was quite big and pretty clean. The only two things I noticed that were not up to standards was the face/hand prints on one of the mirrors and what appeared to be some sort of dried food matter (possibly post digestion) on the "call for help" (remember this is a handicap room) "pull cord" to the side of the toilet. We just ingored that as it was far away from where we needed to be. The bedroom was clean and tidy. We then called the front desk to be put on a list for the casino shuttle. The hotel website gives the impression that the shuttle service would be in a stretch limo. For the most part this is not the case. A large van is what was used while we were there. No big deal to us. The shuttle runs every half hour from 5:30pm-2:45am. Coming back it is first come, first served for the shuttle so you may need to wait for a couple cycles before you get a ride back. The complimentary breakfast is why I gave this place "Above Average" (while the hotel (motel) itself would most likely get an "Average" rating from me). A nice surprise it was. Bagels, English muffins, french toast, pastries, cold cereal, make your own waffles, several types of fruit juice, and coffee (may have been more offered but did not notice). It was a filling breakfast and one of the best included breakfasts I have ever seen. Check out was pleasant and make sure to get your coupon validated that is on your room key holder. They will give you a special rate (a VERY good rate) for a return visit. Will I return here? Yes! The price is right, the location is excellent and the included breakfast is just what I need after a night of casino action.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank discjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2004

I cannot believe the value of this hotel!!! Upon arrival, we were hungry and the fresh fruit at check-in came in handy until we made our way to Foxwoods to eat! The rooms were very clean and spacious... (they leave you LOTS of mints!) and bottled water (PLUS the bottled water is FREE!!! which is practically unheard of these days! Try paying $4.00 at a similar hotel!) Coming back from the casino after a late show, the home-made (WARM) chocolate chip cookies in the lobby was another welcome surprise. The continental breakfast was MUCH more than usual... every kind of pastry/danish imaginable... choices of cold cereals, fruit, and "make your own" waffles and french toast!!! INCREDIBLE! The guy who wrote the (only) bad review must have been in another hotel. This place is awesome! I can't get over how everything is complimentary... even the stretch limo ride to and from the casino... (just be nice and tip the driver!) : )

Helpful?
5 Thank Tami100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markham, ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2004

This was the worst hotel I have ever been to. It's not even worth the stay if it was free because they have bad customer service. First of all I booked two rooms and only got 1. Secondly, there were false advertisment about free limo service. I wanted an experience to sit in the limo arriving at the casino. Later on when I went back home I called to the manager. Do you know what he did? He hung up on me. Thanks, thanks for ruining our trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hyperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
0.3 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
3.8 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Property: Hilltop Inn & Suites
Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing