We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilltop Inn & Suites
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Weymouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient to Casino”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night and took advantage of the free shuttle service to/from Foxwoods Casino, which worked out great.
It was quiet at night and the continental breakfast was pretty standard, but fulfilling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    86
    42
    17
    24
See reviews for
27
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern MA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed here while visiting Foxwoods (it's about a five minute drive and they do have a free shuttle than runs into the early morning hours). I have stayed at a neighboring property that was more expensive and had a less than spectacular stay (read: got no sleep because the staff were talking loudly and smoking outside near my room all night). Not only was Hilltop less expensive, it was cleaner, with friendlier staff and a free breakfast. The breakfast had make your own waffles, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, bagels and cream cheese, coffe, tea, etc. it was a nice continental breakfast coated with others I have had.

Not only was the too clean and comfortable, but the front desk placed us at the end, as requested. It was quiet (I experienced none of the thin walls another reviewer experienced) and I slept rather well which, as someone who frequently struggles to sleep, I appreciated quite a bit. There was plenty of hot water, comfortable, though basic beds, and working a/c. I have paid twice as much in this area for a lesser stay. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Close a room at the end on the top floor ( we were in 201) for a nice, quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

So our family spent a nigh at the casino and did not want to make the drive back home at 2 AM. We booked the hotel knowing we just wanted a basic room to stay in. This is a small hotel with neutral customer service.

The room was clean and the bathroom ok. The bed was comfortable. The free breakfast was ok.

While the price for the room was good they charged you for everything they could.

It starts with the free coffee in the lobby. Yes they offer free coffee but it is watered down an not very good. For a $1 a cup you can purchase a K Cup for of coffee.

They have a very strict guest only on the shuttle bus to and from the casino. So if you have an extra guest who is visiting you be prepared to pay an extra $25 per person for them to ride on the shuttle bus. As a experienced traveler who has been all around the country I have never seen such a strict and un-friendly policy. Most hotels would let you bring a guest on the shuttle bus.

For a inexpensive hotel it's fine... would not want to spend more than one night there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for the first time on a recent visit to Foxwoods. Was able to stay two nights for less than the cost of one night at the casino. Very nice property. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Free continental breakfast was good. Very pleased with my stay, and will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a concert at Foxwoods. Foxwoods rooms almost 400 - stayed here for half that price. On the positive-. Room was clean, shuttle efficient & pleasant. Otherwise, nothing special. Motor inn type rooms, uncomfortable chairs, very thin walls. Staff very pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our "go to hotel" on our regular trips to Foxwoods, but we won't be staying here any more. I ca handle the shower letting out onlydrips and no plug to take a bath, but the attitude of the desk clerk when we told her was totally unprofessional and uncaring.

At 6AM on a Sunday morning , we didn't want nor did we expect to have maintenance come to our room, and we were told " nothing could be done", when we asked for some sort of consideration. She also did not bother to call or notate the failure for future guests. When we told her we will then be forced to write a negative review , she shrugged, as in "who cares" Hilltop apparently doesn't!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Stonington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
0.3 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
775 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
2.4 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
349 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Property: Hilltop Inn & Suites
Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing