We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jonathan Edwards Winery

Jonathan Edwards Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jonathan Edwards Winery is situated upon a picturesque 48-acre hilltop in North Stonington, CT. We handcraft premium Napa Valley and Connecticut Estate wines. Enjoy a tasting or a glass, tour the winery and vineyards, or bring a picnic lunch. Take home a bottle or become a member of one of our Wine Clubs. Open year round - 7 days a week from 11am - 5pm. Our daily complimentary tour is at noon.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We love this winery, not only for the superb wines, but for the beauty of this winery. Our daughter's wedding and reception were held at Jonathan Edwards, and our guests raved about the beauty and elegance for a very long time afterwards. We now go for wine tastings with friends, and don't usually go home without a bottle or two of our favorites. There's lots of outdoor seating, and people love to pack a picnic basket of goodies to go along with their wine of choice. Its a lovely area to drive through too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CtCatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andie M, Manager at Jonathan Edwards Winery, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    51
    22
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couples with dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I'd give it 10 stars but it doesn't go that high!!! Have lots of cheeses, meats and crackers or you can bring your own. Nice sitting area outside on the porch. Going back tomorrow.

Helpful?
2 Thank RVTraveler1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andie M, Manager at Jonathan Edwards Winery, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi,
Thanks so much for such a nice review - hope we'll see you again!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Wine Tasting Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I received a gift of a wine tasting from our son and daughter-in-law, and I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Even though April is not the prime season at the winery, there are still lovely things to see. In addition, the extremely friendly and knowledgable young woman who conducted our wine tasting could not have been nicer! In any case, this is definitely a Connecticut winery well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice location - Tasting Experience Less Than Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Rainy Saturday afternoon, yet location still pretty to see as you approach. A wedding party was having pictures taken within the winery - great location! The tasting experience was less than acceptable. The bartender wasn't even interested in making the experience about tasting the wine - no details, "Here's the wine....." Too bad because it's a great spot. It seemed lie this could be a one off situation, yet there were three bartenders, only one made a real effort to make it about the customer. The wine was excellent - I would have purchased if someone made an effort.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KPN1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Please let me live here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Unpretentious, likeable staff serving wonderful wines in a lovely winery in a beautiful location. Some wines are from Napa, some from Connecticut. Incredibly good chardonnay from this location. Superbly silky merlot from Napa, supple yummy zin from Napa. And many more delights. $6 for 3 wines, $12 for 6 and you receive a very nice glass. At the end of the tasting, you may choose to enjoy a glass of one of your favorites for $8. Open 11-5 even in winter. The best reason to be in Connecticut.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank elizabethanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan Edwards Winery also viewed

 
Ledyard, Mystic Country
Preston, Mystic Country
 

Been to Jonathan Edwards Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing