We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignored” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jonathan Edwards Winery

Jonathan Edwards Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jonathan Edwards Winery is situated upon a picturesque 48-acre hilltop in North Stonington, CT. We handcraft premium Napa Valley and Connecticut Estate wines. Enjoy a tasting or a glass, tour the winery and vineyards, or bring a picnic lunch. Take home a bottle or become a member of one of our Wine Clubs. Open year round - 7 days a week from 11am - 5pm. Our daily complimentary tour is at noon.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
East Lyme
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ignored”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very disappointed in this winery. We stood around for a full ten minutes before anyone acknowledged our presence. It was very awkward and made us feel unwelcome. When we did finally have our tasting we were told very little about the wine. It was not a very fun experience. Too bad. I wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CtreviewEastLyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    51
    22
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stop on CT Wine Trail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is easily the most commercialized of the CT Wine Trail wineries. Self proclaimed as being based on Napa wineries but falls short in both product and presentation. The grounds are nice, the wines are just ok. The staff does not seem to be focused on customer service or keyed into the vision of how good this winery could be. Overall, it seems like the emphasis has been placed on the bottom line by getting the tasters in and out quickly with very little interaction--definitely a disconnect between what it is and what it could be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Been there, done that”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful property! Pleasant enough staff but nothing here that would really draw me back.Very light pour on the tastings!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadasguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best summer festival around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

For the last few years we have been going to the summer festival and wine tasting. Beautiful grounds,wine tasting and music all day long. It doesn't get any better than that. You can also bring your own food or buy something from one of the vendors on site. They set up tents with tables so you can stay out of the sun if you want or set up your own picnic spot anywhere on the grounds. They also have vendors selling everything from jewelery to flavored olive oils. After the tasting you can buy your favorite wine buy the glass or the bottle. Stop buy anytime for the regular tastings,enjoy the beautiful grounds and have a very relaxing day. You won't be sorry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my fourth stop on the wine trail and I after I left I contemplated simply giving up on it. Johnathan Edward's ground are quite nice, not as nice as some others in the area, but nice. That's about where the complements stop. Their wines are ridiculously over priced for the quality they serve and tasting poor's are the lightest around. The staff was clearly overwhelmed and there was no personality in the entire place. I felt rushed, crowded, and like I had made a mistake in coming here. To top it off, the sales person pushed desperately for me to buy a bottle, I was quite awkward.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan Edwards Winery also viewed

 
Ledyard, Mystic Country
Preston, Mystic Country
 

Been to Jonathan Edwards Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing