We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get any better than this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buon Appetito

Buon Appetito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
preston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We are so very lucky to have this gem of a restaurant here in our area! The owners have made every dining experience thus far more than enjoyable! The decor is amazing, the bar is gorgeous, the music and staff bring it all together for just a wonderful night out! Try the swordfish or NY Strip special if you are there on the weekend! Just amazing!
Michelle J

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjacobik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    54
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“More than a brick oven pizzaeria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Buon Appetito is located on the grounds where Rosie's & The Dew Drop Inn, once stood not that you would ever recognize it by how it now looks...because it's an entirely new space, and a beautiful, architecturally interesting space. The two dining area's are spacious with high vaulted ceilings, beautiful hardwood floors and surrounding the room are large windows all around. We arrived a little after 6 without a reservation and were seated promptly. I did notice a waiting line around 7pm. the hostess was dressed in black & white, as were the servers.

Our server was knowledgeable about how the food was prepared and knew the extensive menu. I had read other reviews that only mentioned pizza & calzones, so was happy to see many selections: Panini, salads, pasta, seafood, burgers for example. My friends and I each had a different entree: Wild Mushroom Risotto, Grilled Steak, Baked Gnocchi & Scampi Pizza~we were all very pleased with the tasted and satisfied with the portion. And we had the zucchini chips, for an appetizer that were great. The meal came with some great bread & dipping oil. And they do serve wine and beer.

We were on our way to see a play, so didn't have time for dessert, but they sound so appealing (Caramel Apple Crostada, Butter Roasted Banana Bread Pudding, to name a few ) that we will make more time on our next visit, as we plan to go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickles6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozrah, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just driving through, very happy we stopped!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Very nice building! Great stoneware and heavy dinnerware. Very personable owner. We had the life guard calamari which was very nice. The vinegar reduction with the peppers was great! We also had the house special wild mushroom & rigotta pizza. The crust was light and buttery, the rigotta balanced perfectly with the mushrooms. We'll be back again!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McBozrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

From a wide variety of appetizers, to soups and salads, pizzas, calzones, delicious entrees, specials and sweet desserts to accommodate anybody's palate. They also have a large selection of wines and beer. The owners and staff greet you with a smile and welcome you into their restaurant. A separate dining and bar area are for you to choose. A restaurant that my wife and I and our friends will be back for more. The Casino is right down the road as well. Go here to enjoy a delicious meal at great prices!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K9-Cop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but not a memorable meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My mom and I met up at Buon Appetito on my way down from Boston to visit my family in Mystic... The new restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the focaccia bread was very good; but the rest of our meal lacked flavor. My mom had the clam pasta which she said could of used more spices; and I had the Buon Appetito pizza, which had a nice crust but was very bland, I was a little disappointed. We didn't bother getting dessert. I guess this restaurant is a nice option if you don't want to eat at the casino, but I'm not sure if I would return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Appetito also viewed

 
North Stonington, Mystic Country
 

Been to Buon Appetito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing