We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stay by Foxwoods”
Review of Stardust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stardust
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed overnight as going to show at Foxwoods. 15minute easy drive to casino and easy on / off I95. Room was clean and well maintained. Bed was a bit soft but served its purpose. Friendly staff and provided bagels,fruit and coffee for breakfast. Would stay again!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our second stay at the Stardust Motel. After a surprisingly good experience our first stay, I did not hesitate reserving a room here again. We really enjoyed the Stardust our last stay because of the location, clean room, and most of all the friendly customer service.
This stay again began with a friendly greeting from both the staff, and the adorable dog. However, upon entering our non-smoking room (that was clearly marked "Thank You for Not Smoking" on the door), we were hit with an oppressive odor of cigarette smoke. The room had definitely been smoked in heavily, and for more than one night. The woman at the desk very quickly attended to the room, spraying deodorizer. Unfortunately, that was a short-lived fix, the stench was well-circulated in the AC, and embedded in the furniture and carpet. My wife who is very sensitive to smoke sneezed and coughed all night, and I even woke up stuffy the next day.
Sadly, the really dampened an otherwise good experience. The room is comfortable size-wise, bed reasonably comfortable, and outside of the odor, the room was quite clean. The motel offers a nice continental breakfast, is very quiet, and again the friendliest staff you could ask for... Convenient off the highway and minutes from Foxwoods. Still a great value... I hope the smoking issue is rectified before our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMinRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stardustmotel, Manager at Stardust, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologize about the smoke smell in your room. We have turned the entire motel into non-smoking and are still working on getting the imbedded odor out of all the rooms. We hope that by your next visit we will have accomplished that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We made our reservation a month in advance for a one night stay in the N Stonington area and were assured that we had reserved a nonsmoking room.

Upon arrival, we noticed that our room, number 112, did not have a "Thank You For Not Smoking" sign as did the other rooms and upon entering the room smelled a strong odor of stale cigaret smoke. We also noticed that there were two cigaret burns on the bedspread! I immediately brought the matter to the attention if the owner who reassured me that nobody could have smoked in the room because all rooms were non smoking except for room number 110, which also lacked the "Thank You For Not Smoking" sign. He said that he couldn't change the room because the motel was full.

While the owner was polite, we felt that he was not being truthful with us or accommodating and we had very unpleasant stay in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariell2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stardustmotel, Manager at Stardust, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We have recently turned our entire motel into a non-smoking establishment and are still working on replacing the burned bedspreads and getting signs on all the doors. Along with getting the stale smell of smoke out of the rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience you encounter while staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I work as a pilot car driver escorting oversized loads around the country, Usually when I see a local motel nearby a truck stop I look for a chain type lodging even if it means driving some distance.The Stardust motel looked nice so I took a chance and was delightfully surprised by the great value, spotless and well appointed room and pleasant owner, Jody at the desk. My room had a king size bed, desk, comfortable chair, microwave and fridge. I recommend this little gem to anybody thinking about staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianKelly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stardustmotel, Manager at Stardust, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you Brian for you kind review. We really value our guest and try to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked months in advance for a planned week-end of shopping and gambling. Arrived at 6 p.m. and our 2 queen bed room had apparently been given away to someone who arrived earlier as he put us in a king 1 bed room. No apologies, no explanation except that was all he had. He saw what we had reserved. Would never come here again. Prepare for a bad Porky Pig imitation with a swear word in his joke he tells everyone. No suggestions where we could stay on a Friday night. He really didn't seem bothered except when we said we wanted a refund. Fortunately, we found a great place closer to Foxwoods with a shuttle bus, very nice rooms and a big, free breakfast.

Room Tip: Get there early if you want your reservation honored. Apparently they overbook and take first come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoGirl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Would strongly recommend. Very clean, nice staff, nice room, continental breakfast, close to the highway, affordable. We'll go back because it's close to great sites and food. It's also near gas, donut shop, and other conveniences.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank foodie197144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This motel is about fifteen minutes away from Foxwoods Casino. It's a family run, well kept, clean place to stay. The owners are very nice as are the rooms. Nice clean tiled bathrooms, nice carpeting that looks almost new, comfortable king beds, fridge, micro, and large flat screen TV. We stayed there twice and will every time we go to Foxwoods for a weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
3.1 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
355 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
5.0 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
214 reviews
7.2 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
134 reviews
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust

Address: 544 Providence New London Tpke, North Stonington, CT 06359-1730
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range: $56 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stardust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing