We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great location”
Review of Stardust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stardust
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great place, great location”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

my wife and I are traveling through Connecticut and Rhode Island. We were booked for two nights at the Startdust and extended it to four. The motel is in a perfect location for day trips to Essex and Mystic Ct. and to Newport and Providence RI as well as the Rhode Island beach communities. We did three full days of driving to everything on less than a tank of gas.
The motel is very well kept and very comfortable. The king beds are great. It is also nice to have a microwave and a fridge in the room. Service from the managers is perfect and they are a great source of information on the area. And I have to agree with previous posters...the dog (Gizmo) is wonderful.
The price per night is reasonable and helped to make this part of our vacation affordable. We would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimbin2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
41
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I recently spent 4 days in The Stardust Motel. We normally do not stay in motels, but after reading the other reviews and seeing the reasonable rates, we decided to give it a try. Lynn and Jody are the Managers and they offer a hospitality that only a small establishment can provide; personalized service with a smile. If your looking for an overcrowded and overpriced resort where you will be just another room number; then this is not the place for you. If you want a clean, safe place to rest your head, where the manager knows your name; then The Stardust Motel will more than meet your needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hereandthere2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srtfam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We found the management to be extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. It was a very comfortable and quiet place. The complimentary breakfast was out early and had a nice variety to choose from. We enjoyed our time and truly enjoy meeting Gizmo, the dog. We would surely not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We didn't expect much for the price or the location....just off the highway, but this was a very nice place. The rooms were immaculate. The king size bed was comfortable, and the restroom was recently refinished. It was brand new and really nice! It was a very unexpected pleasure to stay there. We enjoyed Gizmo, the dog, also!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kusey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2009

The worst dirty smelled like smoke noisy the worst place I have ever stayed, would have been better off sleeping in my car

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow37ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stardustmotel, Manager at Stardust, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Shadow37ma,
I sincerely apologize for the bad experience you had during our stay in May 2008. Since then, we have renovated the property. The renovations include bathroom renovation, furniture, fixtures and all new carpeting. If you are in the area again, I welcome you to come and experience the new Stardust Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
4.7 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
207 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
5.0 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
347 reviews
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
541 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust

Property: Stardust
Address: 544 Providence New London Tpke, North Stonington, CT 06359-1730
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stardust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing