We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation spot for a family”
Review of Mystic KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Stonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystic KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We've spent a week at the Mystic KOA for the past 4 summers and have always had a wonderful time. Even though we do venture out of the campground for day trips, our kids always ask to spend more time at the campground because there is so much for them to do there. The pools and other amenities are kept in great condition. The activites are fun for kids of all ages - especially making tie dye t shirts! I really appreciate that there are no extra charges for mini golf, the jumping pillow or the pools. Some activities have an extra charge but it is small and reasonable.
We stay in a Kabin every year and it's the perfect size for a family of 5. Staff is wonderful and always quick to respond to a request. As for the bathrooms, the staff do the best they can to keep them clean, but they are fighting an uphill battle since I see a lot of people who simply refuse to clean up after themselves.
This campground is minutes away from so many great attractions, but honestly you could skip them all and have a great vacation at the Mystic KOA. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWCTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

Staff was wonderful, very helpful. Stay in a cabin and it was very clean and comfortable. Lots of fun would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meggienewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I was honestly expecting wonderful things from this campground. We wanted to camp near the CT shore and particularly Mystic. There are other campgrounds in that area but this one seemed to be the only one that offered FULL hook-up sites including sewer. Although we have never stayed at a KOA facility before, we really believed that the "name" and franchise would equal a really stellar campground and we were underwhelmed. The best thing about the Mystic KOA is the location, as it is within a 10 minute drive to all that Mystic, CT has to offer (and we had a great time sightseeing and at the aquarium!), within 20 or so minutes to the Submarine base/museum in Groton as well as nearby beaches in New London or (much closer to:) Westerly, RI. We paid a premium price for a FULL hook-up, pull thru site. Upon arrival, we found that the site was a pull-thru ONLY if there were no other campers at the sites straight ahead of you b/c there is NO WAY to maneuver a trailer (or I imagine, a larger bus or class A) straight through as the site we were on was pretty much straight in instead of being on an angle like every other pull-thru site we have ever stayed on. The facility is in need of some upgrading, the bath houses were really outdated and despite good efforts to clean them you can only do so much with older bathrooms. My son found these enormous dead bugs on the floor and in the shower of the men's room and in the ladie's room there were clusters of dead beetles and flies in the stalls. When we were there, we were disappointed to see that all but one unit of the playground was roped off with "caution" tape and we have no idea why. The jumping pillow was fun for the kids, so that was a plus. There are 2 pools, one smaller one that is from 3-4 ft, and that is good for younger kids. There seem to be many seasonals here, some better maintained than others. The landscaping is lacking, There is a large obviously dead tree next to the pool area and that really should be removed. We had a small tree at the corner or our site and it was partially dead and covered with some sort of fungal growths, as were other trees there. We also had some sort of large bush/shrub on our site and it had large prickers on it and it was growing outside of it's intended border and every time we walked to our car or around the camper we had to push it out of the way. The fresh water hook-up was located literally ALL OF 6 INCHES away from the sewer, which I found to be pretty gross and un-necessary. We looked at other sites and many had the same problem with the water faucet being "too close" to the sewer, but did see others with the freshwater spigot higher than the sewer outlet. The activities seemed to be the bare minimum to constitute "KOA type activities" but they do offer an outdoor movie once or twice a week which would seem nice (we were not there any day that they offered it).
Would I stay again? Most likely no, which is disappointing b/c of how much we like the Mystic area. I would like to see a little more effort put into maintaining the grounds and some upgrades to the bathrooms b/c this is a great location with amazing potential to be 5 star!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodland109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in June 2010. This was our first time out with our pop up, so we did not know what to expect.

The staff here is great. When we checked in, they guided us with a golf cart to our site. The staff member even helped me back into our space. The camp site was level and had water, electric and cable. The campground itself is very clean and well maintained. The bathrooms were very clean.

There are several sections in the campground and we stayed in an area designed for smaller campers and tents. This area is very wooded and offers privacy. If you can, try to make a reservation for this area. They are the sites that begin with a W.

My only complaint about this is the location. Its on a hill near I 95 and you can hear the traffic noise from the camp sites. Had I not heard the noise, I would have rated this campground higher.

Overall the staff was great and I thank them for making our first time out very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This was our 2nd stay on a KOA site , we enjoyed last years visit so much we knew we would book again for this years vacation, we stayed at the Mystic KOA as the 2nd stop of our roadtrip NYC-Boston , what a wonderful relaxing place after New York Citys noise & fast pace, we stayed in a lodge in a clearing beyond a wooded area, it had plenty of room for our family ,was very well maintained & clean, the pools were great the whole site was very well kept & clean , the staff were great esp the guys in the buggys riding round delivering firewood etc, good little store on site & good range of entertainment & activities inc a skydiving display, plenty to keep the kids & us happy, very sad to leave our lodge at the end of our 4 nights ,great site no negatives all good, cant wait to return to this or another KOA, happy times !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheshirelad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We tent camped at Mystic KOA for a long weekend. Very easy to find, directions are good off the website. Staff very friendly and restrooms are CLEAN! This is primarily a RV camp w the tent campers at the back. A lot of mosquitos so bring bug spray. Kids had a lot of fun on the jumping pillow and pool. Would be nice if the pool were heated since CT isn't that warm. We had a water/elec. site. For some reason, the water was in the camp site as opposed to by the road. This meant every time you used the water, it went all over your campsite. Grocery store 5 minutes down the road. Mystic 10. Ocean beach park 20.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathen302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We just spent a long weeked (May 1-3 09) at the Mystic KOA campground in North Stonington CT. The facility was great and the staff were very helpful. We had a Full Hookup Pull thru (most of the sites are pull thru's) and had plenty of room for our 26' travel trailer with the awning and slideout. Plus there was room to park our truck without having to shoe horn it into a corner. Our son (9yrs old) had fun on the playground, jumping pillow, mini golf and the shuffle board games, all at no extra charge! This is a great campsite for a connecticut getaway thats close to Mystic CT and Providence RI so there is pleanty of stuff to do in the area.

Great experience, we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Stonington hotels
3.6 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
811 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Stardust
Stardust
#3 of 5 in North Stonington
98 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mystic KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic KOA

Address: 118 Pendleton Hill Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359-1719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in North Stonington
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Mystic campground is close to everything! Enjoy all the attractions in the greater Mystic Connecticut area, including Rhode Island beaches, Foxwoods Resort Casino and the Mohegan Sun Resort Casino. The campground is beautifully situated on a hill among maple and apple trees, with modern facilities. Trailer sales, certified trailer service and parts and accessories are all available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mystic Koa Hotel North Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing