We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad reservation experience”
Review of Mystic KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Stonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystic KOA
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad reservation experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We requested Lodge 11 or 12 when reservation was made because we needed bunksand it was near the rec hall for our grandchildren. I called 4 days prior to arrival to ask a question and found out they had Lodge 10 reserved for us. It has a futon (no bunks) and is the handicapped unit and is located in a different area. What is the point in making a reservation months in advance if you're not going to get it anyway?! Maybe someone more "important" wanted that unit. We were all disappointed we had to cancel. It's agood thing I happened to make that phone call.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    32
    12
    6
    11
See reviews for
74
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just sadly returned from our vacation. Mystic KOA was great. Don't listen to the negative reviews. The 2 pools were very clean, the campground was clean and the Lodges were pristine. We loved our Kamping Lodge . Our kids 11,9 and 5 loved the bunk beds and the futon, and my husband and I thought our bed was extremely comfortable and loved the comforter. Air conditioners worked great. The gas grill was nice too.Yes there was a boil water advisory during the beiginning of our stay but the campground gave botle H20 to the guest and it was not an incovenience. Very centrally located to Mystic, Groton and the awesome Rhose Island beaches. Large supermarket right down the road. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just spent 2 weeks at the Mystic KOA. I couldnt wait to leave. Due to e-coli in the h2o we had to use bottled water for cooking, drinking and teeth brushing. Just what you wait to do on vacation......make your life harder!!! The water in their pool was green and I developed a skin infection and was at the doctors twice for diagnosis and meds. On the most recent hottest day of the year our power went off and stayed off for several hours. The staff and management were not even the least apologetic nor helpful with the above situations. They are pricey and not worth it! Please note, I have stayed at that KOA for over 30 years. I believe that the mangement has changed several times recently. I will NEVER return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisdom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Just came back from a week in a Kabin Lodge and were very impressed with the Cabin which accommodated us very well. It was very clean and Matt, Jacob, Emily, Laura, and Jessica who were the summershiners responsible for the children's activities were wonderful they new how to engage my kids in events planned. They provided my four children with activities such as wiffle ball, capture the flag, bocce, scavenger hunt and thier favorite flashlight candy hunt! They improvised when needed to in order to accomodate them and my children did not want to leave. We had never stayed in a KOA site before and it was a wonderful option over staying in a hotel and my children also loved the bouncing pillow, pool, playground, basketball court, and mini golf. We fished in the small ponds, once we sprayed ourselves with OFF ofcourse, went to the beach for a day and finished our trip a mystic aquariam. Stop and Shop is only a 3 minutes away to replenish anything you may run out of along with a movie theater. Thank you, KOA staff for making our family vacation so memoriable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neftersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked a weekend stay in one of their cabins. It was very clean and had all things needed for a comfortable stay. The cabin itself was adorable and the kids were thrilled. rained the entire weekend but the staff put their best foot forward and did their best to keep the kids entertained. The egg hunt moved indoors and kids had fun. We can't wait to return during nicer weather and spend more time outdoors. The staff was friendly and helpful. I didn't find anything that the negative reviews stated. We'll be back and would recommend to friends. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank we3prings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

sites are not levelled; unable to pull-thru due to trees in the way on the so called pull-thru sites; unfriendly staff at reception.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flsouthwind32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Having stayed in this KOA a few times, we knew what to expect. The cabin was pretty good, but was not clean. The floors were dirty (covered in dog hair) and the fridge was filthy. The first thing I did was to wash out the fridge and all of the plates and crockery. A lot of work considering we were staying just one night.
As we were traveling out for a night and live in the UK we ordered a linen bundle for the cabin - this was missing fitted sheets for the queen bed, and had 4 fitted sheets for the two twin beds - really looks like they don't care what they give out.
The man who rides the buggy delivering wood and things was great - the best employee we met. He have me a lift to the reception (just 5 mins away from the cabin, but it was so cool to get a ride on the buggy) - he then waited to give me a lift back. He was very cheerful and obviously enjoyed his job.
The pool area was great and the pool was clean.
We bought some fresh lobsters locally at S&P fish market, and had a great grilled lobster and Champagne dinner.
Over all we had a great time, but did feel for the reasons listed above the price was rather high for just one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
3.6 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
8.1 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic KOA

Property: Mystic KOA
Address: 118 Pendleton Hill Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359-1719
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in North Stonington
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Mystic campground is close to everything! Enjoy all the attractions in the greater Mystic Connecticut area, including Rhode Island beaches, Foxwoods Resort Casino and the Mohegan Sun Resort Casino. The campground is beautifully situated on a hill among maple and apple trees, with modern facilities. Trailer sales, certified trailer service and parts and accessories are all available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mystic Koa Hotel North Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing