We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and outstanding service”
Review of State Street Cafe

State Street Cafe
Ranked #6 of 112 Restaurants in North Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Paris, IL
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food and outstanding service”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We were just passing through and came across this fabulous diner. We both ordered the chicken pita. Great flavor and even included fresh strawberries. The homemade bread pudding is to die for. Very reasonably priced. Immaculate restaurant and restrooms. Wish we lived in the area

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara and Dav... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We are regulars”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We always have a nice breakfast at state street. They are always busy because it is that good. Big portion sizes and great omelets!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch always hits the spot”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Soup choices are always changing. Great idea. Had a crispy chicken over salid. More then enough for two!! Waitress's are very nice. Place is very clean. Owner even came over to ask if everything was ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rvicomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH HAVEN,CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This used to be the old Henry's restaurant. The food was good there but Henry's was filthy. Now that this place is under new ownership, it has been completely redone and is clean and bright. The service is excellent by most servers. We like the breakfast very much and they do have a lunch menu which friends have tried and enjoyed. It is always busy but they try and seat you as soon as possible. As in most of the North Haven breakfast/lunch places, it gets very busy on the weekends especially so you may have to wait. Even during the weekdays State Street Cafe is busy. I always have the cream of wheat which sounds boring but they do something to it which makes it taste delicious! Not your a average breakfast place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthHaven_ctIsadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and lunch...”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've been a few times to this cafe in North Haven. Each time we had very good meals. We've been for both breakfast and lunch and were never disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Street Cafe also viewed

 
North Haven, CT
 

Been to State Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing