We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

My wife and I needed a place to stay for a night near home while a repair was being done at our house, so we picked this hotel. What a nice surprise. First, the staff, from desk people, to maids and maintenace people, to the restaurant staff, were all pleasant, effeicient and helpful (one maid went out her way to hold open a door for us). Second,, the place is kept immaculate and has terrific common areas, A beautiful central courtyard with gazebo, a patio off the large and clean indoor pool, and well maintained lobby. Third, the resaurant food was quite good. The rooms are standard and well-equipped. Carpets a bit old-fashioned, but that is only a minor comment. The only problem at all is that the kitchen was slow, although I gathered that that evening was busier than normal. But the food was the right temperature when it arrived, and, as mentioned, was well-prepared and tasty. For basically a highway hotel, it is a great stopping point and the pool makes it nice for families. There are several restaurants within a mile or so in each direction.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Papa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    167
    93
    49
    34
See reviews for
184
68
40
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

Booked my stay through a bid on Priceline for a total price below the listed low price.

The grounds are lovely and well maintained. My room was on the 2nd floor and had a peaceful view of a wooded lot. Clean room -- comfortable bed. Staff was "Connecticut courteous" -- don't expect the warmth of the midwest/south. The exercise room had several machines that were not functioning -- only one treadmill was in working condition -- but the room is available 24h/day. There is a small indoor pool.

Internet access is FREE (if you bring a laptop) through a DSL cable in each room. There are also computers with printers in the lobby and wireless access is available in the lobby.

The hotel restaurant/lounge was large and the food was above average for 2 star hotel dining. The servers were friendly.

No free continental breakfast, but there is free coffee in the lobby and free copies of USA Today are available for guests.

The location of the hotel is close to 91 and close to restaurants/shopping of North Haven.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet room. Nice view from window.
  • Disliked — No elevator! Older travellers/disabled must ask for 1st floor room!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank geri_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

The front desk staff was a little bit of a put-off but once you get past that step, the property itself is gorgeous! Several outdoor sitting areas, one with a gazebo, indoor pool, exercise room. Houlihan's restaurant is on the property and there are also several other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Liked — Indoor and outdoor decor
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BillT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

This was my first time staying at a Holiday Inn, so I don't know what it's usually like, but our experience was a great one. True, there is no elevator service but the hotel was clean and the staff was efficient (not necessarily friendly) so what more could we ask for?

Our room was clean, the bathroom was kept well stocked with soaps and shampoo, the towels were bleached brilliant and we even had an ironing board and iron on hand for any wrinkle emergencies. We came on the wedding night of one couple and suffered through a lil hallway noise from some *cheery* attendants from the wedding. But our walls were thick enough for it to only be a slight nuisance.

Downstairs: A small excercise room with no-frills, basic machines and mirrors along the walls. This room was available to guests 24 hours a day. They also have an indoor pool (I'm not sure how deep) open until 11pm, and a space in the courtyard that looked like a garden. A nice peaceful little spot. Oh, and they have free parking as well. There's a pair of computers in the lobby with free internet access. I discovered that the rooms each have internet access via your t.v. but it's about $10 or $20 to access it.

Dining: They have a wonderful in-house restuarant (the name escapes me...it starts with an H though) that offers up some delicious meals and cocktails. All things considered, I'd have to say this was one of my best hotel experiences.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hisgirlmonday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2004

I ended up staying here for a family reunion. First off, when I pulled up to the hotel, I was shocked. It looks like a dinky little hotel on the side of the highway next to a Roy Rogers. I went inside and let me tell you, it looks better inside then it does outside. Our room was clean, but the air conditioner had an musty smell coming out of it. It was also on the second floor and just to let you all know (THERE ARE NO ELEVATORS!!!!). How on earth can you even MAKE a hotel that has more than one floor and not put in elevators. When my daughter met me in the lobby after I arrived and told me that there were no elevators, I looked at the girl at the front desk and said....Is she joking, you dont have any elevators? The girl answered very nastily and said...NO! I then was really ticked off and responded to her by saying, well you see in NJ our hotels have elevators so, you'll have to excuse me!! I then walked away and had to carry the biggest luggage that I own up a lengthy flight of stairs to my room. Thank God my daughter was with me to help me. The restaurant there is not bad and the sevice was good. They have an excersice room that consists of two treadmills, a stairmaster, and a few free weights. The pool was ok, but my cousin said that it had too much chlorine in it. Housekeeping staff very nice. One girl went the extra mile to make sure that we always had what we needed...wish that I had gotten her name. Bottom line, this is not a bad hotel, but they do have some issues. If you just need a clean place to lay your head...its not a bad choice.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2004

Hard time deciding whether to say this hotel was Okay or just Terrible. Hotel and rooms were shabby especially for a Holiday Inn. Ongoing renovations are much needed. Desk Staff pleasant and friendly however rest of staff attitude bordered on the morose. The lounge was a big disappointment. Pool area overrun with children's birthday parties going on. Friends who stayed with us and went for breakfast in hotel could not get food or service and left without eating. Attemped to overcharge for a 3 night stay instead of one, however problem resolved by contacting Holiday Inn Corp. Stayed over Yale Graduation w/end and this place was definately not worth the $200 per night fee. Would be hard pressed to recommend to anyone staying in New Haven area.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2003

The stay itself was OK -- not great, but OK. But they overcharged my credit card by $111 and refused to do anything about it. The acknowledged the charge was incorrect, but said the hotel was under new ownership and they couldn't refund my money because the overcharge occurred before the hotel was sold. They gave me the number of the old owners, who also refused to help.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.0 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Hamden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
7.0 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
7.4 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing