We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Donna & Shiraz et al.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Sag Harbor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Donna & Shiraz et al.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Again the entire staff at HINH goes out of their way for clients and guests. I must say I am catered to time and again well beyond any other hotel in the north east. The food is great, there is always a warm cup of coffee available and even a treat at the sign in- outstanding persistence staff- commendable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    172
    101
    50
    35
See reviews for
193
70
42
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the very moment you step into the foyer, you feel as if you are a most welcomed guest and nothing will be a problem. The staff members are so welcoming and friendly and genuinely concerned about making your sojourn here most comfortable and enjoyable. When one then meets the general manager, you understand why the staff are so kindly gregarious, as such all too rare qualities, nowadays, are a reflection of said manager, not that you would readily glean he is in charge, given his unassuming disposition.
Your favourable impressions of the establishment are further enhanced by the very generous welcoming gatherings on a Monday and Tuesday evening, where guests are encouraged to meet and discourse, while ingesting a libation and enjoying some delectable delights in idyllic, warm surrounds. The soire was attended by the manager, who treats each and every person, as someone very special and about whom he cares - ever so thoughtful.
If alerted to a special occasion, management will go out of their way to make that special time, an even more important happening and unobtrusively join in the celebration, again making you feel special.
Whilst the hotel is a certain distance from downtown, the offer and provision of a shulltlt car, with amiable driver, quickly solves this one could be mitigating factor.
The front desk attendants are also a delight, with their accommodating manners and approaches full of warmth and caring.
Being Australian travellers of independent travel plans, we have been travelling all over the United States of America for ten weeks, zig zaging from Los Angeles by bus and train, and this hotel and staff provided us with our most memorably favourable experiences, maiking all efforts and energies expended worthwhile.

Room Tip: Like you as a guest, every room is special. The room becomes incidental to the warmth of the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love giving reviews for hotels that exceed my expectations. In traveling with my colleague this week, we were both struck by the level of genuine hospitality of the staff. From the moment of check-in both Shiraz and Dawn exhibited warmth, humor and a desire to make us comfortable. The conference :, Janis and Peter did the same. They went above and beyond what was needed. Both my colleague and myself can't say enough. It was a wonderful experience and I'm grateful to have met each person who Truly made us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GETTYSBURG
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had to pick my daughter up from QU college. I used Priceline and it was pretty much a crap shoot. I ended up with this hotel. Having stayed at a Holiday Inn only one other time in my life, I really wasn't looking forward to the stay. However, once I arrived, I was greeted by a wonderful Front Desk Clerk, the lobby was beautiful and updated. While walking to my room I passed the Exercise Room and Pool which both were modern and updated. Beautiful! My room took me by surprise, furniture was updated, new bathroom, and the most comfortable bed and pillows. I have to admit Holiday Inn (or at least this one anyway) has come a long way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAKOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Hopefully we have earned your trust as a member of the Holiday Inn Family. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Margi and Brian did a great job taking care of me for Dinner in the lounge. The place was very busy with medical students, but I was able to get a good meal,excellent service and a nice dinner suggestion. Well done.
I would suggest you request a room not by the railroad tracks if you are a light sleeper, but that was suggested when I checked in. A nice effort there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the positive review!. We appericate your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The one word I would use to describe this hotel is "tired". The remodeled guest rooms are cheerful, clean, and of adequate comfort. Hotel style AC unit under the window. Comfortable bed and pillows. It isn't the Intercontinental, but for a roadside Holiday Inn its what you'd expect.

The hallways are kind of dingy. Carpet hasn't been properly stretched and buckles a bit in places. Halls need vacuuming. Hall floorboard heaters are dinged up from people jamming luggage into them. Dropped ceiling makes halls feel close.

What put me off was that I had a long hike to my room in the back, and all along the way the doors to the utility rooms and the housekeeper executive office were left wide open, and they were not a pleasant sight inside. It seemed very unprofessional

The service was excellent. I checked in before dinner, and by the time I got back I had two messages asking what they could do for me. The waitress at breakfast was very attentive.

The hotel has an evening reception with wine, beer and snacks.

It isn't the lap of luxury, but its clean and serviceable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspuppymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from you recent visit to our hotel. I have reviewed your comments and will be sharing it with our management team so that we can address accordingly. It is our goal for our product cleaniness to live up to the level of service that you experienced during your stay. I am happy to share that we will be replacing the carpet in the corridors on the second floor and we will look that the carpet on the first floor to ensure the installation meets our standards.

Sincerely

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 times over the last couple months. The first 2 times were ok. But the last visit was not good. They put us in a smallish room directly next to the train tracks. If you enjoy hearing loud trains at night you would like it. The room also smelled terrible. Smoking , chemicals or a combination. Not sure. We have preferred status at Hilton's and this is what we got. We're in the area frequently but will look for a different spot. Disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your most recent visit to our hotel. We appericate your feedback and will do whatever we can to address the issues that you mentioned in your review. We appericate your business and hope that you will chose to stay with us again. We are confident that we can earn your loyalty back.

Sincerly

Jay Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
3.0 mi away
Carriage House
Carriage House
#1 of 3 in Hamden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Hamden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
8.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
7.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473-1305 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing