We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried but fell short”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Reviewed February 18, 2008

I stayed at the Holiday Inn North Haven on business. To be fair, Holiday Inn is not my first choice for business travel, but New Haven is a bit scarce in upscale accommodations. Basically a suburban hotel, with adequate facilities. The front dest personnel were extremely helpful, especially considering that there was renovation underway in the hotel. I was assigned a room on the first floor, but the manager changed me immediately so I would not be disturbed by the pneumatic drilling to begin at 8 am. Also, I was informed, my original room was located "too close" to the railroad tracks which run behind the hotel. I got an upstairs room, and heard the train in the distance, but not the construction. The bar/restaurant next door is very convenient, and the food standard. It is, however, a bit of a local hangout - for better or worse. Overall adequate in a pinch.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank MiamiAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 609 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2007

We are platinum priority members and when I mentioned my birthday we were upgraded to a beautiful suite. The staff was very friendly, hotel maintained very nicely and the room had a living room and bedroom with a microwave and fridge. It was really a treat to have had such great accomodations. We always stay along the way when we are going to Foxwoods Casino.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank million196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

My wife and I needed a place to stay for a night near home while a repair was being done at our house, so we picked this hotel. What a nice surprise. First, the staff, from desk people, to maids and maintenace people, to the restaurant staff, were all pleasant, effeicient and helpful (one maid went out her way to hold open a door for us). Second,, the place is kept immaculate and has terrific common areas, A beautiful central courtyard with gazebo, a patio off the large and clean indoor pool, and well maintained lobby. Third, the resaurant food was quite good. The rooms are standard and well-equipped. Carpets a bit old-fashioned, but that is only a minor comment. The only problem at all is that the kitchen was slow, although I gathered that that evening was busier than normal. But the food was the right temperature when it arrived, and, as mentioned, was well-prepared and tasty. For basically a highway hotel, it is a great stopping point and the pool makes it nice for families. There are several restaurants within a mile or so in each direction.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Papa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Booked my stay through a bid on Priceline for a total price below the listed low price.

The grounds are lovely and well maintained. My room was on the 2nd floor and had a peaceful view of a wooded lot. Clean room -- comfortable bed. Staff was "Connecticut courteous" -- don't expect the warmth of the midwest/south. The exercise room had several machines that were not functioning -- only one treadmill was in working condition -- but the room is available 24h/day. There is a small indoor pool.

Internet access is FREE (if you bring a laptop) through a DSL cable in each room. There are also computers with printers in the lobby and wireless access is available in the lobby.

The hotel restaurant/lounge was large and the food was above average for 2 star hotel dining. The servers were friendly.

No free continental breakfast, but there is free coffee in the lobby and free copies of USA Today are available for guests.

The location of the hotel is close to 91 and close to restaurants/shopping of North Haven.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank geri_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

The front desk staff was a little bit of a put-off but once you get past that step, the property itself is gorgeous! Several outdoor sitting areas, one with a gazebo, indoor pool, exercise room. Houlihan's restaurant is on the property and there are also several other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BillT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

This was my first time staying at a Holiday Inn, so I don't know what it's usually like, but our experience was a great one. True, there is no elevator service but the hotel was clean and the staff was efficient (not necessarily friendly) so what more could we ask for?

Our room was clean, the bathroom was kept well stocked with soaps and shampoo, the towels were bleached brilliant and we even had an ironing board and iron on hand for any wrinkle emergencies. We came on the wedding night of one couple and suffered through a lil hallway noise from some *cheery* attendants from the wedding. But our walls were thick enough for it to only be a slight nuisance.

Downstairs: A small excercise room with no-frills, basic machines and mirrors along the walls. This room was available to guests 24 hours a day. They also have an indoor pool (I'm not sure how deep) open until 11pm, and a space in the courtyard that looked like a garden. A nice peaceful little spot. Oh, and they have free parking as well. There's a pair of computers in the lobby with free internet access. I discovered that the rooms each have internet access via your t.v. but it's about $10 or $20 to access it.

Dining: They have a wonderful in-house restuarant (the name escapes me...it starts with an H though) that offers up some delicious meals and cocktails. All things considered, I'd have to say this was one of my best hotel experiences.

2  Thank Hisgirlmonday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2004

I ended up staying here for a family reunion. First off, when I pulled up to the hotel, I was shocked. It looks like a dinky little hotel on the side of the highway next to a Roy Rogers. I went inside and let me tell you, it looks better inside then it does outside. Our room was clean, but the air conditioner had an musty smell coming out of it. It was also on the second floor and just to let you all know (THERE ARE NO ELEVATORS!!!!). How on earth can you even MAKE a hotel that has more than one floor and not put in elevators. When my daughter met me in the lobby after I arrived and told me that there were no elevators, I looked at the girl at the front desk and said....Is she joking, you dont have any elevators? The girl answered very nastily and said...NO! I then was really ticked off and responded to her by saying, well you see in NJ our hotels have elevators so, you'll have to excuse me!! I then walked away and had to carry the biggest luggage that I own up a lengthy flight of stairs to my room. Thank God my daughter was with me to help me. The restaurant there is not bad and the sevice was good. They have an excersice room that consists of two treadmills, a stairmaster, and a few free weights. The pool was ok, but my cousin said that it had too much chlorine in it. Housekeeping staff very nice. One girl went the extra mile to make sure that we always had what we needed...wish that I had gotten her name. Bottom line, this is not a bad hotel, but they do have some issues. If you just need a clean place to lay your head...its not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angelgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
7 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
3 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hamden
165 reviews
8.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel

Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473-1305 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range: $89 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing