We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous”

Harry's Sports Grill
Ranked #11 of 112 Restaurants in North Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This restaurant makes the worst fish tacos I have ever eaten. The fish was soggy, the coleslaw was tasteless and why the need for a huge hunk of melted cheddar on top. Honestly, the food was disgusting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Harry's Sports Grill, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the fish tacos. We have recently changed the product and preparation for this dish based on your feedback. We invite you back to try our new fish taco's! Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ny
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“.......... ummm ..............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and went to Harry's last year and everything was great ..... Back this weekend for another competition and went to Harry's again because of the convenience. Last time we were there it was packed. The first thing we noticed this time was that we were the only table at 8:30pm on a Saturday night and only 2 people at the bar. I will say that our server was excellent. Having some restaurant experience, I told the wife and kids to only order prefrozen food, no seafood or "fresh" food as the lack of customers was troubling and I was concerned with the possible slow food turnover in the kitchen. Our nacho appetizer arrived with the cheese sprinkled over, but they never melted the cheese. The kids were very hungry and dug in anyway to chips and dry cheese, not wanting to wait for a fix. My son and daughter ordered MWell burgers. They were lightly cooked on one side and the other was 1/4 inch of hard charcoal. My daughter ate half of hers but my son at 7 years old couldn't bite through it. When a replacement was brought, it was cold and raw inside. By that time, he was too fidgety and settled with all of our fries. My wife refused my advice and ordered a shrimp caesar salad. I warned her against it but as usual, she went against my advice to spite me. I had the satisfaction of listening to her in the bathroom from 2am - 6am. .....Really ..... no joke ..... What a difference one year makes. This is the first time I have ever felt compelled to write a review ......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JccNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Harry's Sports Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I am sorry to read that you and your family had a bad experience in the restaurant this weekend. As the manager of the property, I will surely share you comments with the executive chef. I know that our restuarant and our team is capable of delivering a better dining experience than this and I hope that you will allow us the oppurtunity to earn your loyalty back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A "Must"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited because of reviews. We were looking for a place that was clean, and offered a variety of foods. Harry's did not disappoint. The menu has plenty to chose from for any palate. It actually took us quite a while to decide. Finally decided on the Rodeo Burger for myself and the Potato breaded Cod. The food arrived quickly, piping hot, and cooked exactly as ordered. I had requested my hamburger cooked rare, and rare it was! Absolutly perfect. The cod was just as perfect. All during our stay, Samantha, our bartender and server, made sure we were happy and not in need of anything. She also took the time to talk to us on a personal level. We felt like family here. Harry's is now one of our "regular" places to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murpheyslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Harry's Sports Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the positive review! We are very glad that you decided to come in and give us a try. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm a regular and it's mostly due to the fact that Margi and Brian are such phenom bartenders! The service is great and they make the experience even better with experimental cocktails and great conversation. The food is consistently good and there's always a wide selection of beers on tap to choose from. Always a great time :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harry's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well, I am there for business several times a month. I can tell you, the management, like Donna and Kim, the bar tenders Sam, Margi, Brian et al. always see to make me comfortable, well fed and watered. I enjoy unwinding there, which is to say something because I am an Irish Pub kinda guy...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at Harry's Sports Grill, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the positive review and mentioning so many of our team members. We appericate your business and hope to see you often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Sports Grill also viewed

 
North Haven, CT
 

Been to Harry's Sports Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing