We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, very good service and unparalleled location”
Review of Blue Waters Cafe

Blue Waters Cafe
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Blue Waters Cafe is situated next to the ocean with great views of the bay. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our meals range from light meals, steaks, chicken and fresh fish.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, very good service and unparalleled location”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Returned to this beachfront restaurant after a few years absence to find the service was still excellent and the food was of the highest quality.
The restaurant shows clear evidence of the difference attentive management makes to the success of an establishment. We had superb service from a well trained student called Luke as well as anyone on the floor who passed our table,
I had an excellent Cajun Linefish, my wife enjoyed a Sole Monique and our daughter a very good pasta. We shared a Feta and Garlic Focaccia and delish deserts were enjoyed by all.
The restaurant was full when we visited, a sign of the popularity of Blue Waters Cafe - yet service was never compromised.
And the best of all was the price - 5 star meal at an affordable price - this is rare today.
We will be back the next time we visit Port Elizabeth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexFaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barthodv, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for such a great recommendation. Please know that I will pass this on the the employees.
We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    290
    106
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best brownie I've ever tasted”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Amazing prices, amazing service, amazing food. We visited here 4 times within 3 days we loved it so much. Lovely atmosphere too, especially overlooking the water at all the little fishing boats. Also, make sure you try the chocolate brownie for desert-divine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barthodv, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi Chloe,
Thanks so much for the visit and review. Glad you enjoyed our view and brownies.
Hope you're able to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Lovely seaview. Food are excellent. Value for your money. All the staff are very friendly. You feel so at home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amvjjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barthodv, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Good day,
Thank you very much for your review and feedback after your last visit, we are glad we made you feel at home!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service & seafood with a view”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Friendly servers, great seafood and nice wine choices. We spotted whales over lunch one day. The menu is quite extensive - breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was nice music one evening, too. Even though it's on the beach in a touristy area, it seems to be full of locals.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartho D, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your feedback and review after your last visit to Blue Waters Cafe. We're glad you got to see some whales and enjoyed our setting.
We hope to see you soon
Regards
Bartho de Vries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beach favourite”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Interesting menu, delicious food. Lovely place to have breakfast, lunch, coffee or a drink. Really enjoyed the location, super view of the ocean including dolphins & whales if you are lucky

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartho D, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Waters Cafe also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Blue Waters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing