We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a place!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 61 on Brighton

A beautiful house in a perfect setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful house in a perfect setting
Settle down with a good book, or watch TV or simply relax Comfortable,spacious and enough room for the whole family
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
A beautiful house in a perfect setting
Settle down with a good book, or watch TV or simply relax
Comfortable,spacious and enough room for the whole family
Have fun in the pub or watch a game on the TV
Supper for 12 - no problem!
And a lovely kitchen to make supper in!
An elegant main bedroom with french doors onto the deck and garden
A luxury e-suite bathroom made for bubbles, candle light and relaxation
A calm and tranquil 2nd main overlooking a fragrant herb garden
A full second bathroom with a shower
Triple single bedroom  with blackout curtains - so sleep as late as you like!
A bunk bedroom the kiddies will love
Braa (barbique)  anyone?
Al-fresco breakfast
Enjoy the bird song and the sound of the sea in the distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
oliverg16...
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a place!!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was without a doubt the stay of the holiday.... In total there was 7 of us (including a 1 year old). When you pull up in the car it doesn't look much from the road, but you get through the garage onto the decking and wow, it's just wonderful. Everything is so clean, so fresh, so elegant. There's a bar, with 2 fridges for all the beer and not only that there's a tv on the wall with a very big sofa... Perfect for a group of guys. Bathrooms were spotless, showers brilliant and the en suite looked lovely off the master bedroom. Outside there is a huge decking area with barbecue and seating, which looks onto the pool. Cannot speak highly enough of this place.
Please visit

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
Thank you so very much for this wonderful review. So glad it met and exceeded your expectations!! Please come back again when you are next in SA. We would love to welcome you back. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian E
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family Wedding trip to Port Elizabeth”
Reviewed December 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I booked this property to enable a number of our family to stay together for 7 nights to attend and celebrate the wedding of one of our sons.
The property was absolutely beautifully presented, and many thanks to Cecile and Ian Grant for making some minor changes to accommodate all of our party.
We loved the space in this house, allowing all of us to stretch out and not get under each other's feet. The decking, barbecue, and pool area were also very popular and throughout our stay we enjoyed every minute! This is a wonderful property in a great location, and I have never stayed in a better holiday rental property anywhere!
If we ever travel back to PE, we will definitely try to book 61 on Brighton.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, facilities and space.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mnd.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2016
It was a pleasure to host you and your family for this very special occasion. I am delighted that you all had such a wonderful time in our lovely corner of South Africa. We hope you will visit us again. Kind regards, Cecile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrequentF...
1 review
“Amazing!! ”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This house is truly amazing. The property is even nicer than the pictures. Great for families, wish I'd of brought more people along, there was so much space. There is everything you could possibly need and Cecile is extremely helpful. The home is very secure. Leah is lovely.
Thanks

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad that you had a good time despite the weather!! We look forward to hosting you all again. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryess12...
Braunschweig, Germany
1 review
“A Dream home away from home!”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic home that suited our group of friends and our 3 year old. Very child friendly , well maintained, clean and very homely.
Thanks Ian and Cecile for checking on us during our stay to make sure we were fine. Leah and Gloria were absolutely fantastic, not only did they look after the house and cater to our needs but also had no problem helping out with our son.
I can't say thanks enough and we will all be coming back again as this is the best holiday house we have ever stayed at. Totally worth it.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that our house met and exceeded your expectations. You are most welcome back any time. We are glad you had a special time for such a special occasion. Regards Ian and Cecile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Thank you so much for a lovely review. I am so glad that you found everything to your satisfaction. I have taken note of your comment about the kitchen knives and will make sure that they are sharp when next you visit. Just one small thing, the cost of upgrading to the premium package is R400,00 which is the difference between the small package and the premium package. I do hope we see you again when you next visit our city. Once again, thank you for the kind words. Cecile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darren H
1 review
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We travelled to Port Elizabeth in April to see my eldest children and to get married, so this really was a trip of a lifetime. Thankfully everything went to plan and we were particularly pleased with the standard of accommodation. We came across 61 on Brighton whilst researching numerous sites and were immediately impressed by what we saw. On arriving in PE we were even more delighted that the property exceeded our expectations. It is in a superb location, excellently managed by the wonderfully attentive Cecile and cared for on a daily basis by the beautifully natured Leia. We had the most memorable time here with our wider family and friends and hope that we get another to go back soon.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cold pool
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so glad we met and exceeded your expectations, especially for such a special occasion as your wedding. I am so glad that you were able to spend time with your sons who were able to stay with you at the house. I look forward to seeing you all again soon and I wish you both a prosperous and happy life together. Kind regards, Cecile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: If I had to answer for a friend of mine, she would say the fridge - did not have to buy ice. Easy access to all areas in PE. What you saw on the web you got.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 27, 2015
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and the ladies to our house. I am so pleased that your expectations were met. It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back at the house again, when you are next visiting Port Elizabeth. Kind regards, Cecile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing