We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Keep Going Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margate Place Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margate Place Guest House
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“I Keep Going Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

I make a yearly trip to PE for Ironman. Saying at Margate Place has become part of the whole amazing experience for me. It's a quiet place to relax, a friendly place to invite friends to, it's comfy and personal. I rate the whole Margate team.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissiej17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
28
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We traveled to PE for the World Cup and Margate House fulfilled our needs. The breakfasts are really good and it was nice that it had a kitchenette. We had children so we stayed in the adjoining family room 6&7. The style is definitely not trendy, more functional with a Home Depot design feel. I guess my tepid response is due to the fact that we paid quite a bit for the rooms (they really increased their prices for the World Cup and we had to pay for 3 nights even though we were only staying 2... we didn't have a lot of choices so we agreed). By comparison the other places we stayed in SA for around the same price... were so much nicer. So I would recommend Margate House if you get a good rate. The people are really nice and the accommodations are functionally comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate_Place, Owner at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
I, the owner of Margate Place Guest House, would like to respond to the comments “It’s ok” , made by the above client.

1. “Pay for three nights while staying for two”:
We had a minimum three night stay policy during the World Cup period – similar to that of MATCH, the official booking agency of Fifa – as the matches played in Port Elizabeth were all three days apart from one another. This client suggested, out of her own, that she would make the three day reservation, although she would only be staying for two nights. She made the reservation a year in advance, at that stage there was still plenty of accommodation available in Port Elizabeth. It is thus totally untrue to say that she had no other choice than to take the three night booking.

2. “Paid quite a bit ……. They increased their prices for the World Cup”
It is indeed true that we increased our prices for the World Cup, yet it was still substantially cheaper than reservations made through MATCH. The reason for increasing our rates was not to make huge profits, but to be able to pay for increased services – for example increased no. of staff. Please note that this was a group of five people, occupying two interleading units with two kitchenettes, two bathrooms, two lounge areas, three TV’s, with private entrances and a private courtyard / barbeque area – for R500 pp per night, including a lovely buffet breakfast. One cannot compare these rates to other places in S.A. which were not host cities to the World Cup.

3. “The style of décor is not trendy, more functional with a home depot feel”
My only response is that we are a four star graded establishment. The décor is intended to be homely, as per our detailed website. We do, however, agree that taste differs.

In conclusion: We appreciate the positive comments made by the client. We just felt it necessary to respond to some of the other comments made by her. Margate Place has been occupying the no. 2 position of all the accommodation establishments of this nature in Port Elizabeth. It is indeed sad that this client’s comments have now taken us four spots down to the no. 6 position, but we will no doubt soon be moving up again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed 3 weeks in rooms # 4 and 6. Clean, spacy, comfortable, safe. Felt like at home. Cornell and Debbie, gonna miss you and your marvelous guesthouse. Unfortunately did not have too much time to explore more - was too busy working at the World Cup. The major asset of PE is people. I keep saying that here in Russia. Friendly, smiling, people who eager to help. I fell in love with PE, I remember everyday I spent in a city and in Margate Place. Thank you so much. Dream of going back...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderRusskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Margate Place is my home from home. I travel to PE at least 6 times per year where I stay over night and sometimes for more than one night. I see Margate Place as my second home which make my traveling to the Eastern Cape something to look forward to. The staff has always made me feel as I am an honored guest it is something that all the guest will experience on arrive at Margate Place. Cornel, Debbie and Staff, thanks you for making my stay in Port Elizabeth memorable – every time all the time

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Davidowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Debbie was very helpful with directions and how to get around. She recommended and booked a day trip for us. Debbie is kind and helpful and does a very good job. Margate Place Guest House is in a good location, secure, private, clean, safe lock-up parking, quiet, equipped with everything you will need for an enjoyable stay.

We stayed in PE for about 1 month and had to check-out and return as they had previous bookings. Dec.21-28 (7 nights) we stayed in Unit 6 (upstairs) which had been renovated, fresh paint etc. so it was fresh and clean. The bathroom was new and in good working order and great water pressure. The bed was comfortable. Private patio and BBQ. Both units had everything you could need in a self-catering kitchenette, they thought of everything. Great.
The TV's are too small & old.
Jan.5-17 (12 nights) we stayed in Unit 8 which has it's own private entrance and courtyard. The family room was a good size. The bathroom had poor water pressure. The bathroom sink taps needed repair or replacing (which they said they would fix). If they keep up on repairs and renovations it will continue to be great.

The pool area was nice, however the pool refreshment hut was not opened.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays_duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

This is a good location hotel and everything BUT our vacation was very much disturbed by the landlady going on and on about how the blacks and the coloured people were useless
(right in front of her own black "servants"). We felt very uncomfortable about this and told her so, but when we disagreed she was agitated.
Also there was mud and rocks in her pool from the neighbour´s drilling project and she
1, did not ask about how her guests were doing without the pool but only compalined to us over and over again about how expensive this was going to be for her.
2, when we comforted her that the damage would probably be covered by the neighbour or his insurance, she once again showed her racial side and concluded " well he is jewish, I can´t expect a penny from him!!!

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerfromsweden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutsch Evern
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

I'm normally not making comments on these sorts of pages but, we stayed several times in this guesthouse and the last stay was the best. Really enjoyed our time again. Well done to you all. Relaxing and everything is so little trouble.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank defYogi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#15 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Avenue Guesthouse
First Avenue Guesthouse
#9 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margate Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margate Place Guest House

Property: Margate Place Guest House
Address: 5 Margate Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Success proven by very high occupancy over 20 years! Stylish, private guest units. Secure parking. B&B or self catering. Rooms offer: En-suite bathrooms, kitchenettes, bar fridges, Free Wifi, DSTV, private entrances and BBQ areas! Very close to all beachfront amenities, 2 MINUTE walk to the Beach! Airport 10 min. Follow us on Instagram margateplace_guesthouse and check out our FACEBOOK page to view more photos... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margate Place Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing