We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margate Place Guest House
Ranked #10 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's like coming home. My 4th stay at Margate just confirm everything I already know. Everyone from Alex, Marilees and of course Cornell, do their best to make you feel comfortable and happy. The residential area is more than safe with close proximity to all amenities, the beach and the Boardwalk. Well appointed rooms with braai area available. Just love it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea_Bumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 116 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Margate Place is a short walk from the wonderful Port Elizabeth beachfront. 10/10 for location and 10/10 if self-catering is what you're after. This four star establishment offers comfortable, well appointed rooms and is situated close to the nearby attractions of the Boardwalk Casino, the lovely walks along the water-front and the Port Elizabeth University.

One would have to dig deep if forced to find anything to criticise - if I had to find two things, these would be (a) that I found the pillows to be a little large and hard for my personal taste and (b) an added news channel (such as Skye, CNN or similar) on the limited DSTV channel choices would be an improvement.

Don't let this put you off however, this is merely a matter of personal preference. The owner and staff were attentive and polite - I highly recommend Margate Place for both business and leisure visitors. I booked through a website, www.staysa.co.za.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff was always very helpful, and if we had a request, they would do everything possible to fullfill it. A lovely place to be. Close to all services and the beach. Residential area is quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are staying in the Port Elizabeth area this is the place to stay. This is our 3 visit and as always Margate Place offers excellent accommodation at a good price. Be sure to visit the De Kelder Restaurant at the end of road for your evening meal ( 5 mins walk, max. ) where you can enjoy great food and wine and your car is back in the secure compound at Margate Place. You will not be disappointed with anything at this location, with Alex looking after you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, My tip, if they have a room available, BOOK IT !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As a tour company we have made use of Margate Place for many years, because you can always be sure of very good accommodation and excellent service. Our guests are always very happy to stay there. Cornell and the team always try to accommodate everyone's wishes.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank AFLPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate_Place, Manager at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hello Amanda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We always look forward to your tour groups coming to visit us in the Friendly City. You always seem to bring the most kindly and interesting guests to our door. Even the staff have asked me a few times when the next group of "Nice Germans" will be coming!

Thank you for entrusting us with your guests' accommodation. We promise to keep taking great care of all of them!

Kind Regards,
Alex, Cornell and everyone here at Margate Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was very pleased with the room very comfortable and clean, Alex was very helpful as was
all the staff, easy walk to the beach, all services are close by, this property is very secure and safe also very close to airport and entertainment, i stayed for ten days and i was very happy and
comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Melrose Place. The rooms are compact but very comfortable and clean. Most rooms have a small private courtyard with access to the garden. Service is friendly. Walking distance from the beach and very close to airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margate Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margate Place Guest House

Address: 5 Margate Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Success proven by very high occupancy over 20 years! Stylish, private guest units. Secure parking. B&B or self catering. Rooms offer: En-suite bathrooms, kitchenettes, bar fridges, Free Wifi, DSTV, private entrances and BBQ areas! Very close to all beachfront amenities, 2 MINUTE walk to the Beach! Airport 10 min. Follow us on Instagram margateplace_guesthouse and check out our FACEBOOK page to view more photos... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margate Place Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing