We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop-off in PE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margate Place Guest House
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent stop-off in PE”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were warmly welcomed by Debbie at the start of our trip to SA with an early check-in at Margate Place after two long flights.
Our room was more like a suite with a separate sitting room, kitchen, WC and bathroom and we could easily have self catered for a longer stay. Excellent breakfasts and helpful guidance on what to see locally.
Walking distance to the board-walk complex, restaurants and a beautiful beach.
The SAMREC penguin sanctuary at Cape Recife is well worth a visit as is the Donkin trail.
Best value B&B stay on our trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
30
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jhb
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

great location, walking distance to pubs and restaurants and beachfront.

safe, secure, clean, spacious.

You can judge a place on its towels! These were big, new and fluffy.

Breakfast excellent and management and staff vey welcoming and friendly, nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: no 7, outside patio and own braai
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Travelled with our daughter for IRONMAN 2011. Thank you for our wonderful stay at Margate Place Guest House. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and fully equipted. We had our own little deck and it was totally secure and private. The location was perfect and we were able to walk everywhere we needed to be. Thank you for the lift to the airport..
Another time we would request a ground floor room as carrying bikes and gear up stairs was difficult and also the ironman competitors legs were a bit sore for climbing stairs for a day or two following event....

Room Tip: Request ground floor room if an ironman competitor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Pros:
- Run quite efficiently, with friendly staff.
- Breakfasts were the best I had at any B&B on my trip.
- Room was clean and well appointed.
- Within walking distance of Boardwalk complex of entertainment and restaurants.

Cons:
- Would be nice if the Wi-Fi was free.
- If you bus in, you'll find this location more difficult to get to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Spent a week at the Margate late October 2010 and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were all spotless and homely. I would definitely stay there again. Thanks to all for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We travelled from the UK for a friends wedding. Myself and my partner had the excellent garden room which was beautiful. The location is just close enough the the local resturants and bars. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order! Everything we could have asked for. Debbie was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here with a number of the other weddings guests and it was a great central point for us all.
Would definalty go back again if staying in PE.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam-Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

It all started with the warm welcome, and the place itself was so amazing, nice, quiet, warm, homely, the staff there were so friendly, from the cleaners to the lady called Debbie, all i can say is WOW! I really wish I could certainly extend my stay but had to go back to JHB,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margate Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margate Place Guest House

Property: Margate Place Guest House
Address: 5 Margate Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Success proven by very high occupancy over 20 years! Stylish, private guest units. Secure parking. B&B or self catering. Rooms offer: En-suite bathrooms, kitchenettes, bar fridges, Free Wifi, DSTV, private entrances and BBQ areas! Very close to all beachfront amenities, 2 MINUTE walk to the Beach! Airport 10 min. Follow us on Instagram margateplace_guesthouse and check out our FACEBOOK page to view more photos... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margate Place Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing