We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent for one night pre departure stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5th Avenue Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
5th Avenue Beach House
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
edinburgh
Level Contributor
275 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Excellent for one night pre departure stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was everything we needed for one night in PE- good room, lovely setting and delicious breakfast. Only complaint would be that in keeping with many establishments the room we had did not have a plug near a mirror ! Friendly team and easy to walk to a number of restaurants or they offer dinner and an honesty bar if you want to stay in. Would definetly use again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and near the main gate so a bit noisy so maybe an upstairs room wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
29
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Been ten years since my last visit and it just gets better! Well positioned with spacious rooms and good breakfast! Hosts are friendly too. A home from home. Cant wait to go back! Worth a visit. Not the average b&b. best place in port elizabeth.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently met up with our Australian family for a reunion and required accommodation for the entire group. Anthea and Mush, our hosts, went out of their way to accommodate us at their lovely guest house. We were provided with our own large dining area each morning and were given full use of the pool and lapa area for an entire day, where we invited our friends and extended family to join us for a barbeque. So much thought has been put into the establishment, from the beach towels at reception to the mini first aid kit in the bathrooms (who hasn't forgotten the antacid or band-aids when packing for a trip?) We had a fantastic time and will definitely stay at this establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j1llybean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Querétaro, Queretaro de Arteaga, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place if coming for business or vacation. Make you feel between friends just like home.
Anthea and Ana, they run the extra mile to meet your expectations. You can concentrate to do work or simple relax.
Place is near to beach and many restaurants, beside to be a couple blocks from Boardwalk complex.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serafin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having booked a tour of South Africa independently, we only had one night at this wonderful property. I wished we had stayed longer. I was travelling with a firiend so we had a twin room which was huge. It was light and airy with french doors that opened on to one of the swimming pools. It was a very short walk to the beach where there were so many restaurants and bars that we were spolit for choice. The owners were loveley and more than happy to stop and chat. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkdobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night, however wished we had stayed for more. Great location for local restaurants and the beach and boardwalk and the room we were given was in the main building and was huge. It had a balcony and overlooked the Main Street, which was very quiet. The room itself had a separate lounge area and a large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower. Decoration was contemporary. The guest house has a small pool however due to the cool weather, we did not use it but it i looked very inviting. The breakfast was beautiful and there was lots of fresh, tasty food, including divine warm fresh muffins. Yummy. Anthea was a lovely host and nothing was too much trouble. We booked this through a local tour company called East Cape Tours, who were also very professional and helped us arrange a most memorable holiday.

Room Tip: I would personally ask for a first floor room, due to the possibility of bugs getting in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvvinlife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just had a 4 night stay at 5th Avenue Beach House and found it to be in a great location near to the beach ,local restaurants and the Boardwalk.
Our room was beautifully furnished with great quality bed linen and bathroom towels
and of a good size.
the bathroom was lovely with a corner bath and a very large walk in shower.
Breakfast was first class with everything you could want to eat.
The pool area and gardens were well maintained,very pretty.
Anthea and her team was so welcoming with lots of advice on where to go in the area.
Anthea always had time for a chat with you.
Thank You everyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Bay BnB
Blue Bay BnB
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Villa Tuscana
Villa Tuscana
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Beach House

Property: 5th Avenue Beach House
Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#7 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
5th Avenue Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing