We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous gamble..!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This was to be the last leg of our world trip visiting Singapore Australia New Zealand.and South Africa. We knew nothing of the guest house other than the postings on Tripadvisor and we had booked in for a month,,,some would say something of a gamble... but how that gamble paid off !! We arrived very late due to flight delays from Sydney and J'Burg and we were tired and weary to be met by Cilliers who greeted us like long lost friends and took us striaght to our room..Perfect...large cosy bed large bathroom with shower and bath, lounge area and kitchenette. Outside our own private area with table and chairs.Everything spotlessly clean and dressed ready for us. After quick showers we crashed out too tired to explore further. The following morning after a quiet and peaceful nights sleep,refreshed, we went to breakfast...wow...the dining room sat next to the sparkling pool amid mature gardens with the patio doors fully open tables set on white linen.There is a choice for breakfast ...cooked...continental..or both..!!! Help yourself to as much as you wish of the cold buffet and fresh tea and coffee whilst you wait for your cooked breakfast cooked to order and the breakfast is fantastic...as we stayed for some time we had chance to ring the changes and we can honestly say whatever combination of delights we threw at Henk and Cilliers the food was superb every time...one warning...if you are slimming or swimming be careful what you order the lads can be very generous with the portions..!!!....Henk's [ let me feed you ] omelette is a winner !!!!..and whatever you have you will not need lunch..!! After a post breakfast nap we ventured out. The Kingfisher is located very close to a splendid beach which is next to the old lighthouse and within easy driving or walking of all the other Port Elizabeth attractions,shops restuarants and bars but far enough away to be an oasis of peace and quite after a heavy day enjoying yourself. Henk and Cilliers have developed a beautifully quite secluded and restful haven at Kingfisher with service and attention to detail second to none of the 4 * hotels we had stayed in during the other parts of our trip.With secure parking, generous helpful hosts and staff you will not be disappointed in Kingfisher whether you stay 1 night or a month this place is a winner. Henk and Cilliers thank you for everything and we will be back that is a promise...not a threat...!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzer1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed for only one night but had enough time to enjoy the lovely rooms, the cozy atmosphere and the remarkable hospitality of Henk and Cilliers, Kigfisher's hosts. The guest house is very near from all centric spots and also very close to the airport (from where we arrived). Our room was quite big, very clean and comfortable, apart from its lovely decoration. On our only morning there, we had an amazing and complete breakfast. Honestly, we found nothing to criticize at all. Overall, it was a great and peaceful stay and highly contributed to our unforgettable visit to Port Elizabeth and the Garden Route. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danicavassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed at the Kingfisher on two separate occasions in January having stayed before in 2008. The rooms are lovely, breakfast delicious and hosts delightful. And it is extremely good value. The Kingfisher is about five minutes (at the most) from restaurants and shops in PE so perfectly placed. We would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending the place to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I am a regular guest at Kingfisher Guest House and only have excellent comments to make about the establishment.
The units at spacious, comfortably furnished, and private. The bathrooms are large and clean with both a bath and shower.
The maintenance staff are seldom seen which adds to the privacy of the establishment
The breakfasts are simply awesome.
All the units at Kingfisher are set well back from the road in a fairly quiet area allowing for very comfortable and sound nights sleep.
To top it all off, Kingfisher Guest House is within walking distance of shopping centers, night life and both popular & upmarket restaurants.
Kingfisher Guest House is my first call for accommodation in Port Elizabeth - every time!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwenMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed only 1 night at Kingfisher. It was a large, well furnished and very comfortable room. Beautiful bathroom and kitchenette. Everything was top quality. The location is perfect on a quiet residential street. There is secure parking in the house. We waked up very very early in the morning to go to PE airport (flight to Durban) and unfortunely we haven't breakfast... The owner were very welcoming and helpful. We could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cri0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We booked two rooms for one night before we continued with a safari trip. Our hosts were extremely helpful and so friendly. Breakfast was excellent. The rooms were big and very comfortable. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed in cottage 1 in the backgarden of Kingfisher. It was a roomy, elegantly furnished bungalow capable of self catering (but we were bed & breakfast). Everything one could need was available in the bathroom and kitchen area and everything was top quality and beautifully presented. There is a small communal pool outside as well as screened off private patio areas for each individual bungalow. The location is perfect - on a quiet street 1 block back from the main beach road but within easy walking of the beach and Boardwalk restaurant area. There is secure parking and the house is well signposted from Beach Drive. Breakfast by the pool or in the sunny breakfast room was another wonderful experience. Hot or cold cereals, fresh fruit salad, tea/coffee/chocolate, cooked breakfast to order and presented with a flourish of colourful garnish ( English Bed and breakfasts could learn alot!), meat and cheese board, yoghurts...We could have stayed longer! Both owners were very welcoming and helpful and run a select guesthouse they can be rightly proud of. Re. eating tip we suggest the Island Restaurant which is heading out away from Summerstrand, about 10 mins drive at most. Re. beach holiday, note PE is described as "windy city" so research your seasons.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TillyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
351 reviews
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Lemon Tree Lane
Lemon Tree Lane
#10 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Bay Guest House
Ocean Bay Guest House
#9 of 43 in Summerstrand
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $89 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing