We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Guesthouse I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2014

On my arrival on Friday 17 August I was greater by a very friendly Cilliers. Cilliers (and later Henk) proved to make my stay enjoyable with they very efficient and effective service and also making me feel at home. They have gone the extra mile with accommodating my needs as well as assisting when I needed extra water, a packed breakfast to take with me. My room was cleaned daily and the general condition of the guesthouse is in good standing. This guesthouse is proof of how other guesthouses should operate and how they should by run. Thank you again Cilliers and Henk. I will be back next year and so will at least 5 of my friends. Keep up the good work. Regards,
Monray

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monray Botha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Henk and Cillier run a wonderful guesthouse. The accommodation is fabulous with excellent bed, privacy and all the amenities one needs when travelling on business. They are caring hosts without being intrusive.The breakfasts prepared by Cillier are delicious with newspapers available. A delightful environment and the B&B is well situated with easy access to the city. Well worth a stay..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Once again, many thanks to the hosts Henk & Ciller at the Kingfisher Guest House. I have just returned to Durban from a weeks stay with them at their Guest House in PE. The rooms cater for your every need, they and their staff are just so attentive to every detail and need. Even though the rooms are absolutely perfect in every way and their attention to detail is amazing, they are currently upgrading some of the rooms to make them even better, even though the facilities are hard to beat anywhere else. The grounds and pool area are meticulously manicured and the addition of stunning hand crafted mosaic plaques are fantastic. Once again, hats off to the two of them, they make the best breakfasts I've had anywhere in the world on all my travels. The friendly and personal attention one is given during your stay is exceptional and not found anywhere else. Thanks again for an incredible stay and may you be filled to capacity so others can also share in this amazing experience at The Kingfisher Guest House. Will see you again soon and promise to bring J with next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Being on the road and sleeping in many different hotels and guest houses, little compares to the feeling of a home away from home. I will definitely be back. From the arranged late check-in to the fantastic English breakfast to the all around service with a smile, it's going to be difficult to top the service I received.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Henk and Ciliers are excellent hosts. And they do a breakfast which is even better. Service is superb. You even get a text on your arrival day welcoming you and to give you the last infos. Always friendly and helpful. You can feel that you are more than just a guest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have just spent a lovely 4 days with Henk and Cilliers while attending Iron Man 2014. Facilities are top notch but the personal attention makes the stay even more fabulous! The breakfasts are superb! Highly recommended and we will most definetly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our second visit to Kingfisher and it will not be our last, this was our last stop on our 14 day visit with family from England to the Cape and we saved the best till last. We recieved an SMS from Henk and Cillers on route from Sedgfield welcoming us to PE and Kingfisher, we arrived at 2pm and were shown to our rooms, we were in the Maritime, same as our last visit, everything is there in the room for you, from carpet slippers to umberella, may be not advisable to be used as PE is known as the "Windy City". When I say the breakfast is excllent I mean excellent, the home baking was wonderfull, food cooked to order perfectly. The house is in easy walking distance of the beach and resturants, both Henk and Cillers were the perfect host.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
349 reviews
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Lemon Tree Lane
Lemon Tree Lane
#10 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Bay Guest House
Ocean Bay Guest House
#10 of 43 in Summerstrand
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $90 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing