We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #10 of 44 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I decided to stay in the Kingfisher Guesthouse based on reviews on Trip Advisor and I'm so glad I did. Henk & Celliers are wonderful hosts, they really ensure that they have taken care of every little detail. Our room was lovely and very spacious and breakfast is delicious, and with lots of choice.

The location is great, a very short walk to the beachfront and then its a pleasant walk to The Boardwalk where there are plenty of restaurants and shops.

Hopefully we will return so we can take advantage of the pool, even we Irish didnt manage to brave it in the Winter :)
Rachel & Shane

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishcoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
58
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Kingfisher was recommended by friends and one of the best guesthouses I ever stayed in. Clean, neat and the owners are wonderfull and caring. Not even to mention the outstanding breakfast well presented and perfect. Highly recommended to any traveller !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I first stayed at Kingfisher in 2007 when I was in PE to participate in Ironman South Africa triathlon. I was so impressed that I continue to return. Henk and Cilliers are excellent hosts and take pride in their service, quality of food and they also maintain a very high standard in everything they do. The layout of the rooms are such, that you able to relax outside your room in complete privacy. Kinfisher Guest House is very close to the main beaches and the Boardwalk. It is definitely the place to stay in Port Elizabeth.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I Stayed some time ago - 2007, but had to seek this Guesthouse out now I am registered on Trip Advisor.
The place is simply superb. Nice quiet location in PE, with wonderful hosts.
The accomodation is spacious, clean and very modern.
A great breakfast was provided every day, and the chaps that run the place couldn't have done more to help in terms of car hire, trips out etc. In terms of getting to the waterfront and boardwalk area for the shops and restaurants, you could walk it though as we had hired a car it was a 5 minute drive.
A great little place and I would 100% stay again if I was in PE, I wouldn't even look at other options.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff are lovely and made us feel right at home. The location 10 minutes from the airport but in a quiet suburb. No vistas but the rooms: light, white and sparkling clean made up for this adequately. Beds very comfortable with cotton bedding. Kitchenette well equipped with french-press and fridge. Breakfasts excellent. We will look no further when returning to PE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Attention to detail is applied here! Henk and Cilliers could not have been more helpful and the room was spotlessly clean and tastefully appointed.
The breakfast was outstanding and set us up for the day!
Our only constructive comment is that we needed better reading lighting.
We will return and highly recommend Kingfisher Guest House to others.
Colin and Wendy
Knysna

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knysnarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Clean, spacious and tasteful rooms in a beautiful garden. Extremely good value for money in a quiet residential area, close to the center but slightly off the busy beach rd. Cilliers and Henk are excellent hosts, thank you guys for a perfect start to our holiday :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 44 in Summerstrand
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 44 in Summerstrand
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#4 of 44 in Summerstrand
337 reviews
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
413 reviews
3.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Property: Kingfisher GuestHouse
Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing