We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #10 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Henk and Cilliers provide the best service you can expect of a guest house which you will find in every single detail, from the homemade soap to the beautifully served breakfast. The owners treat you as their personal guest: Cilliers was waiting for our late arrival and kindly helped us to fix the problem with the car rental, Henk gave us advice on the rest of our trip.
The only thing we did regret while staying there was that we couldn't stay longer.
We would recommend to start exploring the coastal part of South Africa with the stay at this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
54
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sluis, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

A very warm and enthousiastic WELCOME, PERFECT rooms, PRIVATE terrace poolside, FANTASTIC breakfast and Celliers and Henk as perfect hosts - All in All, it couldn't have been better! Thanks for the great hospitality. Jeffrey's Bay was a great stop for the Beach, Thanks for the tip! marjo & Geert

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I always stay over at Kingfischer when I've got to go to Port Elizabeth. The service is excellant and the rooms comfortable and clean. Henk and Cilliers are professional and let you feel at home. All the rooms have a private patio and I like to have morning coffee outside in private. They go that extra mile, with room accessiories (gowns, slippers, magazines ect.)

Room Tip: The room on the house side, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family and I spent 6 wonderful days at Kingfischer,and without a doubt we will be back.Excellent service that truly gives you that home away from home atmosphere.The room was clean,cosy and really comfortable..considering the fact that we were four in the same room.But what truly sets Kingfischer apart for our family was Henk and Cilliers`s uplifting,warm yet professional attitude towards our family.Just lovely...Z.Moro

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zodwarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the geusthouse that gvie the best service. We were very impressed by the way we were treated. Even small things like putting on lights in the evening so that when you get back to your room it is not in darkness. Food everything is of a high class

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Kingfisher. Henk and Cilliers are professionals. Every aspect of the Guest House is in very good taste and quality. The layout of the rooms - each with private patio; the quality of the room accessories (umbrella, gowns, slippers, magazines etc.) - All first class. The delicious breakfast needs a special mention of its own. To top all this, the personal warm attention and service of the hosts has to be experienced in order to believe that "this is how it is done".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Kingfisher was really well positioned for our few days in PE over New year and, staying with our young family, was really convenient for a quick walk to the beach. Overall very impressive with only one small point - the unprotected pool is important to note for small children. The accommodation was extremely well appointed, very comfortable and the service, including breakfast, was simply outstanding. Dinners in the area were slightly limited but our hosts recommended some great spots within a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Knysna room has the extra space for kids with a foldout couch and it was very helpful to have a cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.1 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Property: Kingfisher GuestHouse
Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing