We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #10 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Excelent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the geusthouse that gvie the best service. We were very impressed by the way we were treated. Even small things like putting on lights in the evening so that when you get back to your room it is not in darkness. Food everything is of a high class

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
54
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Kingfisher. Henk and Cilliers are professionals. Every aspect of the Guest House is in very good taste and quality. The layout of the rooms - each with private patio; the quality of the room accessories (umbrella, gowns, slippers, magazines etc.) - All first class. The delicious breakfast needs a special mention of its own. To top all this, the personal warm attention and service of the hosts has to be experienced in order to believe that "this is how it is done".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Kingfisher was really well positioned for our few days in PE over New year and, staying with our young family, was really convenient for a quick walk to the beach. Overall very impressive with only one small point - the unprotected pool is important to note for small children. The accommodation was extremely well appointed, very comfortable and the service, including breakfast, was simply outstanding. Dinners in the area were slightly limited but our hosts recommended some great spots within a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Knysna room has the extra space for kids with a foldout couch and it was very helpful to have a cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Kingfisher is absolute pefection. It is the very best place that I have stayed away from home. Henk and Cilliers are superb hosts. We will not stay anywhere else when visiting Port Elizabeth......Donovan / Claudette / Claire

Room Tip: All rooms are absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donovan J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a lovely B&B - Henk and Cilliers were wonderful hosts and so accommodating! Perfectly situated. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were outstanding - always with a little home baked extra!! Would definitely recommend it and will certainly stay there whenever visiting PE!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Kingfisher from september 28th to October 1st 2012.
The personal service from Henk and Cilliers was outstanding. The breafast was excellent with freshly baked muffins, fresh fruits, home made cakes, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms, eggs, etc.
The room was spacious, very clean and well organized.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURBAN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked into Kingfisher B&B on the recommendation of our children who have been there before. It was all they said it would be. Henk and Cilliers are the most wonderful hosts. The rooms are lovely and it was so nice having our own private patio. The little extras they provide, like gowns and slippers in the rooms, full DSTV, bar fridge, kettle, toaster, crockery and cutlery, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, etc. makes it a home away from home. The breakfast was excellent and the service amazing. We will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be very nice and they all have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.1 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Property: Kingfisher GuestHouse
Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing