We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #10 of 44 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice visit!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Kingfisher was great! We felt like coming home because they where so concerned about us (two girls, travelling on our own) coming after dark. The room was very nice & quiet, the breakfast was excellent... too bad we where just there for the night.
If I'll be back in PE one day, I definitely will visit Kingfisher again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
58
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capetown
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Best way to describe the stay at Kingfisher every time is " WOW". Everything you need or think you need, are already taken care of! From the white linen to the best guesthouse breakfast you can ever have! When out early, they provide a basket with a variety of snacks for breakfast. The rooms are in such beautiful maintained status that all you can do is relax, enjoy the treat and the warm friendship from Henk and Celliers! Final compliment: Attention to detail is the order of the day. The personal touch from Henk & Celliers on all criterias are unbeatable and hard to find!
Even the advice of where to shop for little gift and goody shops are the best!
Keep my room ready my friends! I am on the way!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifull, but there is rooms with a little lounge and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have stayed at Kingfischer more than one time. This is my first choice when visiting PE. Cilliers and Henk welcomes you as a friend and will go out their way to help. I have stayed in more than one of the rooms and all of them is perfect. They are spacious, comfortably, private and everything on it's place. The breakfast are top's. Thanks guys. I will be seeing you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Visiting Cilliers and Henk at the Kingfisher guesthouse in PE has become like visiting family. They are always welcoming you as a friend whether you are a long time returning guest or new comer. Their rooms are superb and they are very well thought out. You basically have all the comforts of home and Cilliers and Henk are always willing to assist with special request to make your stay even more pleasant. If you are looking for a tranquil, comfortable and friendly place to overnight, I would really recommend the Kingfisher guesthouse to anyone who wants to visit PE and experience its friendly people first hand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The title of this review says it all. I keep on going back to Kingfisher because?
I'll tell you why:
Really good value for money.
The rooms [have stayed in a number of them] are all spacious, comfortably furnished and private.
Facilities are CLEAN and many have both shower and bath - relaxation!
I love the idea that you almost never|ever see the staff which makes one forget that at times that this is a really busy Guesthouse that obviously needs to be kept clean and is.
The breakfast is delicious, probably too much.
Luckily situated within easy access to entertainment, shopping, eateries and the airport.
Owners are very helpful but thank God, never in your face. Thanks guys.
I'll be back on my next visit to SA.

Room Tip: All the rooms are set back from the street which affords one a peaceful and quite rest! Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiccioVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed twice in Kingfisher, both times were for business purposes and I reallly enjoyed it. I also had colleagues with me (both times) and they also enjoyed their stay. And we really experienced good service: Henk and Cilliers even helped when we had a flat tyre and had to get to the airport on time...I had 8 people to get to the airport....and Cilliers drove them in his own car.
Thanks, it is reallly a lovely stay and a very nice guest house!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had stayed at the Kingfisher Guest House for only one night, after a flight of about 10 hours from Brazil. It was amazing the way I was received, Henk and Cilliers were very thoughtful and kind and the room was very clean with a lot of details that make me fell so comfortable. The breakfast was also very, very good. After a week me and a friend went back to PE at different times and needed another overnight, but I didn't book before. So I told to my friend to go to Kingerfish and try stay there, cause I would only go a fell hours later, but they were full. But what I was very impressed was that they were very concerned and helped us find another guesthouse.
So , I just have to thanks Henk and Cilliers for their help, attention and kindness, and I hope to be there in another moment again. Ana

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaGandaraMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 44 in Summerstrand
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 44 in Summerstrand
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#4 of 44 in Summerstrand
337 reviews
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
413 reviews
3.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Property: Kingfisher GuestHouse
Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing