We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$142
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
$160
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
$162
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$140
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Algoa Guest House(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
111
104
59
30
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
104
59
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reserveputt puttcaravan parkjungle gymcleaning staffwill visit againstaff was very friendly and helpfulenjoyed our staybraai areaa great stayablutionsziggysfacilitiespeaccommodationunitport
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 324 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Realy enjoyed camping there. Nice ablutions and friendly, helpfull staff. Very safe and peacefull.
Close enough to the city and main beaches and shopping.Camping sites are very sheltered and private.We did not look at the cabins but they seem to be very nice. Also a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleTucker_za, Marketing at Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Pine Lodge always aim to put our guests first and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The perfect venue for Ironman PE for the family - set in a peaceful nature reserve away from the madding crowd, but only a 3 min drive to transition!
Spent 4 nights there around the Ironman in 2013. Wife and 2 small kids - the perfect setting for a family, particularly if you are racing and they are spectating - the resort has a pool/play structure/coastal walking path/beach/trampoline/2 restaurants/safe paths to ride bikes/basketball court and play lawn etc - it is on the race course (bike and run), but away from the craziness of the main beachfront precinct, so your family can choose to stay there and watch you come past, or they can go to the transition area as they like . On race day, Marine Drive is blocked off, but the resort has a small backroad access through the university that they have arranged with the local municipality, that gives them complete access throughout the day between the resort and transition, and there is hardly any traffic on that sector, so you can come and go as you please. As soon as Marine Drive is closed on race day, the back university gate is opened up. The other side of town, i.e. La Roche/Strandfontein etc are a complete nightmare on race day and pre race day, so this is a very welcome alternative - I had no traffic issues whatsoever between there and Boardwalk area on any day of my visit
Apart from the venue location, the staff are unbelievably helpful and accommodating - the manager on duty the day I arrived took me in his car to show me around and drive the route for me from resort to transition to plan my family's race day logistics. The manager on duty on race day ferried my family to and from the resort to transition using the backroad option along Marine Drive, which allowed them to watch me all day at transition, plus get back to put the small one to sleep at lunch time, and allowed me peace of mind on race day knowing they were taken care of
The staff at reception are also phenomenal - my room was not ready when I arrived at 8am, so they rushed to get it done by 11, then called me on my cell when it was done. The cleaning staff are friendly and accommodating
We booked a double cabin by the sea (3/4), which allowed us to have 3 bedrooms seperated by interleading doors, with 2 bathrooms and a shared kitchen - a great option for a family of 4 or more, where parents want their kids in seperate rooms - a lot nicer (and cheaper) for a family than sharing a single room with 2 beds in it at one of the hotel chains along the strip
Cost for the double cabin arrangement = R1150 per night
Overall - highly recommended place for anyone, but particularly for Ironman athletes and their families

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIMBO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleTucker_za, Marketing at Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind words - they are highly appreciated! We've worked hard to ensure that our Resort is accessible ove the Ironman weekend so we are thrillled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again at the 2014 Ironman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

spent almost a week here in the runup to ironman, south africa. it is located on the route so nice to get out and do some training. reasonably priced, slightly ageing fittings and furnishings although everything worked.
nicely cleaned everyday, however there is no dishwashing liquid in the units, so if you need to wash something make sure you get.
the veranda doesnt seem to get a cleaning so you have to wipedown the chairs and table yourself.
nice walk down to the sea, note its rocks so you cant swim there. swimming beach 15min walk.
a safe bet when in port elizabeth.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleTucker_za, Marketing at Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback.We will certainly look at placing dishwashing liquid into the units in future. The outside table and chairs are cleaned before our guests arrive, but being so close to the beach, they do tend to get dirty quite quickly. We hope to see you again for the 2014 Ironman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Used this hotel for a large group, overall a reasonable experience. Each bungalow was simple but comfortable, spread out on a secure compound. For such a large group the hotel was very unhelpful in pricing and the meals that we agreed upon were less than acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeGuides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleTucker_za, Marketing at Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm sorry that our catering was not up to your expectations. We receive very few complaints about our Food & Beverage Department, but will pass on your remarks - there is always room for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at this Lodge for 3 nights on business. Arrived after 9pm when reception was already closed. Security guards handled the check-in and were quite helpful and friendly.
Pros: Spacious rooms and reasonably clean, self catering facilities, conference centre, friendly staff, value for money (particularly if reduced for group travelers).

Cons: Far from town and most amenities, (unless you have own transport), bushy setup, beware of mosquitos, baboons and other bugs, expensive breakfast and quite poor. For two consecutive days they couldn't offer a full fruit basket as part of the buffet, except some weak fruit salad.

In a nutshell, not too bad!

Room Tip: Try asking rooms with sea view to make your experience worth while!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajanteAfricano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleTucker_za, Marketing at Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about the fruit are well taken and we will certainly take them up with Food & Beverage Department. As we border the Cape Receife Nature Reserve, there is very little we can do about unusual "visitors". Our surroundings and the "visitors" that inhabit them all add to the ambience of our coastal resort and we invite you to come back on holiday to experience the relaxed atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews