We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 5 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiralty Beach House
Ranked #1 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Our family of six, including two middle-aged and four young adults (21 to 24), stayed at Admiralty Beach House for five nights over Christmas while in Port Elizabeth for a family wedding. Our stay was delightful. All three rooms we booked were spacious and comfortable, two had private outdoor areas. I loved the high ceilings and bath tub of our Fish Pond Room. One of the upstairs rooms had a sitting area with large television, perfect for our 21 and 22 yr old sons and for family viewing of our safari photographs on the large screen TV. The gardens were beautiful and the young adults enjoyed the pool and held a braii in the yard. Great breakfasts, personal service, attentive, helpful staff, gracious hostess. Walk to the beach across the street. The only negative we experienced was that the gas station on the edge of this residential area could be noisy, as noted by another reviewer. This was not a problem for us during the day (in fact our young adults utilized the mini-mart and fast food) and it quieted down by late evening, so it was a minor negative point overwhelmed by all of the positive points of this B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ElizabethSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Admiralty Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed here for one night in August. It was nice, good breakfast, clean, and secure.

Couple of small things... the bathroom door in our room. Saloon style doors in front of the loo are a bit odd for a bathroom. I went out for a walk when my husband needed to use the facilities. Enough said there really.

We were just off a really long flight and were looking for a bit of a sleep, but the place was across the road from a petrol station which was a bit of a hang-out spot with the local petrol heads. I was woken a couple of times by screeching brakes and revving engines. Not the end of the world, but just be aware of it if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We staying here for one night in August and found it to be a lovely guest house with pleasant and helpful staff. The rooms were bright, spacious and clean. The breakfast was good and there was a good selection. There was also a pool and garden but unfortunately we didn't get to use them as it was raining!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here on our final night of our holiday before flying home & were a little disappointed. The room we were allocated was nice & spacious but it had a damp, musty smell to it & the sliding patio doors were damaged & could have been opended when locked if desired, however there was a separate locked gate to the room. The breakfast was fine, however we were left to our own devices for about 15 mins until we were greeted & our orders taken. The best part of Admiralty in our opinion is the garden/pool area - this has clearly been done to a high standard & came in very good use for us as we waited to go to the airport. Not the cheapest place to stay in PE & personally I think you could get better value for money elsewhere. It is located in the Summerstrand arear of PE which is the better part & is close to the beach but not any of the ammenities, approx 2km to the Boardwalk Complex. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gembo_notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Stayed overnight between a flight and safari. Located just on the edge of town, the guest house has nice spacious and clean rooms.

Staff are extremely friendly and gardens/grounds are exquisite. Breakfast was particularly good.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MatthewRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

just a corner of england in south africa.

the house is old british style, rooms are big and the owners very very nice.

ideal location close to the beach and close to the boardwalk (the place to have dinner in PE)

addo elephant park 1 hour drive from the B&B

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Checco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

If you are looking for a place in Port Elizabeth this is the only place to stay. A wonderful tranquil atmosphere for our family of 5 and the perfect place to unwind to get ready for our journey back home. The interior decorating was fabulous, they mixed the green and blue palette beautifully. The house staff were fantastic, they just grabbed our 2yr old and walked him around the small back yard and showed him the flowers and fish. We offen find him in the kitchen with the staff eating home made biscuits!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_handful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $91 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 meters walking distance to the beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is a 5 minute drive away. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing