We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but a bit noisy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiralty Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Admiralty Beach House
Ranked #1 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed here for one night in August. It was nice, good breakfast, clean, and secure.

Couple of small things... the bathroom door in our room. Saloon style doors in front of the loo are a bit odd for a bathroom. I went out for a walk when my husband needed to use the facilities. Enough said there really.

We were just off a really long flight and were looking for a bit of a sleep, but the place was across the road from a petrol station which was a bit of a hang-out spot with the local petrol heads. I was woken a couple of times by screeching brakes and revving engines. Not the end of the world, but just be aware of it if you're a light sleeper.

  • Liked — Breakfast and ambience
  • Disliked — Noise from street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
121
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

We staying here for one night in August and found it to be a lovely guest house with pleasant and helpful staff. The rooms were bright, spacious and clean. The breakfast was good and there was a good selection. There was also a pool and garden but unfortunately we didn't get to use them as it was raining!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottm, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here on our final night of our holiday before flying home & were a little disappointed. The room we were allocated was nice & spacious but it had a damp, musty smell to it & the sliding patio doors were damaged & could have been opended when locked if desired, however there was a separate locked gate to the room. The breakfast was fine, however we were left to our own devices for about 15 mins until we were greeted & our orders taken. The best part of Admiralty in our opinion is the garden/pool area - this has clearly been done to a high standard & came in very good use for us as we waited to go to the airport. Not the cheapest place to stay in PE & personally I think you could get better value for money elsewhere. It is located in the Summerstrand arear of PE which is the better part & is close to the beach but not any of the ammenities, approx 2km to the Boardwalk Complex. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gembo_notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2008

Stayed overnight between a flight and safari. Located just on the edge of town, the guest house has nice spacious and clean rooms.

Staff are extremely friendly and gardens/grounds are exquisite. Breakfast was particularly good.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, character of rooms and breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

just a corner of england in south africa.

the house is old british style, rooms are big and the owners very very nice.

ideal location close to the beach and close to the boardwalk (the place to have dinner in PE)

addo elephant park 1 hour drive from the B&B

  • Liked — charming house and breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Checco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in Middle East
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2007

If you are looking for a place in Port Elizabeth this is the only place to stay. A wonderful tranquil atmosphere for our family of 5 and the perfect place to unwind to get ready for our journey back home. The interior decorating was fabulous, they mixed the green and blue palette beautifully. The house staff were fantastic, they just grabbed our 2yr old and walked him around the small back yard and showed him the flowers and fish. We offen find him in the kitchen with the staff eating home made biscuits!

  • Liked — Tranquil, Clean, Staff, Interiors
  • Disliked — The pool was not heated
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_handful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2007

We spent three nights here and enjoyed it without being "wowed". Best points: the staff are nice, kind and helpful and the home-cooking - both breakfasts and by-arrangement dinners - are good. The bedroom was spacious and well-equipped; it could have been slightly cleaner, as could the swimming pool and its surrounds (though there were no qualms about using the pool). The plumbing of other rooms created noise in the bathroom. The location is very close to the beach but also opposite a gas/petrol station that attracts noisy cars (seems to be a rule to pump the stereo up for filling-up) and minibus taxis plying for trade honk too often for comfort (outside the property seems to be used as an informal bus-stop). So don't expect perfect peace in your room. Good without being outstanding; no reason not to stay here but not a must-go either.

  • Liked — Staff attitude, cooking.
  • Disliked — External noise, some minor aspects of cleanliness.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Property: Admiralty Beach House
Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 meters walking distance to the beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is a 5 minute drive away. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing