We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiralty Beach House
Ranked #1 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Amazing Hotel. Close to beach, secure and safe, very nice and helpful staff. The rooms are large with kitchen, mini bar, bad with shower and tub. Breakfast served buffet style arm and cold in front of pool! So relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Admiralty Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in the poolside room with our 2 children for the Ironman event, our friends also stayed in 2 of the other suites available. Location, breakfast, comfort, rooms as well as the staff and owners were brilliant and couldn't do enough for all of us.

Always careful about recommending places to stay to anyone I know as tastes vary but I wouldn't hesitate when it comes to the Admiralty Beach.

I really can't figure out a previous review by Iris D and how disappointed she was, sounds very strange as I have travelled all over the World and stayed in many top class 5* hotels and taking into consideration this is PE and a Bed & Breakfast, I couldn't imagine many other B&B's could hold a candle to this one.

Room Tip: Poolside room if children are teenagers worked well as two seperate bedrooms and 2 toilets,
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidfisher9799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Admiralty Beach House offers very nice rooms, a fantastic breakfast, a splendid location 3 minutes from the ocean and yet somehow protected from the strong Winds that sometimes blow from land or from the sea. But most of all, once again it is the human beings that make it happen and the staff of the Admiralty Beach House make you feel just the person they would do anything to please. They are always available and ready to help, flexible and caring. We definetely had a Great Stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabi0_Manzetti_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very disappointing if you expect a 5 star experience. The garden room allocated to us was at the back of the house facing the laundry lines and neighbours water tanks. The area is very noisy until the early morning and there is very little sound proofing in the house. Our biggest frustration was being locked out of the general facilities of the house after 19.30 in the evening. Our room fridges were not replenished with water and at night we had to purchase water from the service station across the road. The rooms were at least clean and the breakfast was good, but all in all no where near a 5 star experience and definitely not value for money. Would not recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Owner at Admiralty Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Iris

I wrote to you on Monday to apologize for the problems experienced and have not yet received a response. As you can see by your credit card statement, your outstanding balance has not been taken, as you told my manageress, Lisa, that you were not prepared to pay. When Lisa offered to call us, the owners, to discuss the matter, you said you were not interested and just wanted to leave. This is called "bilking" and is a criminal offense. I think you have gone out of your way to maliciously tarnish our reputation which we have worked hard for 15 years to establish. As you can see we are number 2 out of 35 Guest Houses in Summerstrand, and this accolade is not achieved by accident. I assume you think everybody else is wrong or making up untrue compliments about our establishment? I would like to address your complaints. Firstly, how could the view be of a washing line? there is a wall with a mosaic mural of an aloe between the private patio and the said washing line. Were you able to see through the wall? The picture is on our website, and this is the room you requested. If you were not happy with this room there were other rooms available and you could have moved if you had asked. I also find it strange that you had no problems at all with the establishment until the time came to pay. On the first morning when Lisa asked you how you slept at breakfast you said everything was great. I also spoke to the Norwegian couple who stayed here on the same weekend ( last weekend), and they said that some dogs in the neighborhood barked in the early hours of the morning but only for about 15 minutes, and that it was no problem at all. Regarding the water, my staff replenish the refreshments daily.. The cleaner on duty has been with us for 10 years and is diligent about this.

Once again I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Admiralty Beach House is a very good value with great staff, delicious breakfast, and good location if you’re heading to the airport the next day. The beach is just a block away and there is a great boardwalk that parallels the beach.

Lisa is such an asset to this operation and could not have been more helpful. Always with a smile on her face she is willing and able to help in any way possible.

While there are a couple of downsides such as some street noise in the morning, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms large and the robes and slippers a plus. In addition, there are a few items for sale that are incredibly well priced and provides guests with some last minute shopping for local jewelry and crafts.

While it is a well run and maintained B & B I would have to say it would probably be more accurate to rate this a 4 star property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Excellent breakfest buffet.
We felt very welcome by the Family Byron and enjoyed their hospitality.
Nice Town Port Elizabeth.
The Golf courses are very closed to Admiralty Beach House.
Great Weather all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

good location, if you don't want to go downtown. very friendly staff.
good beds - slept very well there.
family room with TV in each room.
nice backyard with clean pool.
rich breakfast-buffet and service.





  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $91 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 meters walking distance to the beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is a 5 minute drive away. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing