We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quaint and charming.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiralty Beach House
Ranked #1 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It has a very warm and friendly feel. The host and hostess are hospitality at its best. The breakfasts are phenomenal. It is located within walking distance of the beach. If you are planning a visit to Port Elizabeth, this is definitely an excellent place to stay. A++++

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGlenn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband, 1-year-old daughter and I spent two weeks at Admiralty Beach House -- the first week in the luxurious "self-catering" cottage and the second in the fantastic, spacious Poolside room at the guesthouse. Both accommodations were absolutely lovely -- beautifully appointed, comfortable, and peaceful. The location is perfect: just a short walk away from the beach and close to all the attractions of Summerstrand. Al and Jo were gracious and attentive hosts, making sure we had all that we needed for ourselves and the baby. Marylise, who was on site all day, could not be warmer or more helpful. She even looked after our baby for short stints when we had to run and do something. The breakfasts were elegant and delicious. I could not recommend this place any more highly. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Unfortunately we only had time to spend one night at this beautiful guest house. The house and the garden with a rather large pool is a fantastc place to spend a vacation. The Indian Ocean is only a few minutes walk from Admiralty and it is only 10 minutes by car to the airport. The guest house also have an art and jewellery exhibition with some very interesting prices. The breakfast is vast and very good. We can really recommend a few days stay at this beautiful B+B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Owner at Admiralty Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your review, much appreciated.

All the best for the upcoming year.

Kind regards,

Admiralty Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of December 2012 for 6 nights and it was really lovely - clean, comfortable and friendly. Our children, aged 13 and 15, stayed with us for a couple of nights so we were given the garden suite which was ideal - two bedrooms. Rooms are spacious, homely and ours opened onto the pool and garden which was superb. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff a pleasure. When we asked them if they could please dry 15 wet towels (we were there for a waterpolo tournament) it was absolutely no problem. It is ideally situated and perfect for going for nice walks on the promenade. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Owner at Admiralty Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Shirley

Thank you for your review, much appreciated. All the best for the upcoming year and thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Admiralty Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staying at this cozy and tasteful small House was a real discovery. Allan and Josephine are the perfect hosts, helpful and so well informed about PE and making you feel right at home in a beautifullly kept and equally beautifully decorated place. We loved the house and the garden and the hosts and would recommend the Admiralty Beach House at any time without the slightest hesitation. The lovely rooms have a separate entry and give you the right privacy. Thank you so much for the warm reception and the great days we had with you !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigiitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed our night at Admiralty Beach House. Our room was very nice and spacious. The friendly hostess was very welcoming and always willing to help. Breakfast was excellent.
Lovely garden with quiet corners to relax and enjoy a sundowner.
Near to beach and shops. We certainly recommend this guesthouse in PE.

Room Tip: Steep outside stairs to 1st floor rooms, not suitable for elderly people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wldekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at Admirality Beach house over the weekend and I am definately going back there again. My room was super comfortable with great attention to detail . The high speed Internet was great too. There were so many options at the breakfast buffet and the food was delicious . Alan and Jo , guest house owners , were friendly and the atmosphere was so relaxing. I loved the fact that I was staying so close to the beach front and there are so many restaurants and entertainment in walking distance. What an awesome weekend !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dane_John7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.0 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $106 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 meters walking distance to the beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is a 5 minute drive away. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing