We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiralty Beach House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Admiralty Beach House
Ranked #1 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa
1 review
“fantastic B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

spent an amazing week in this lovely guesthouse, just 1 min away from summerstrand beach. the room (fish pond) was large, nicely decorated, and perfectly clean. the guesthouse has a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, the owners Alan and Jo, and all of their staff are very competent and super friendly. also loved the huge selection and quality of the breakfast. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
122
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just back from a business/holiday trip to Port Elizabeth where I stayed for two weeks in this lovely guesthouse. Had a week in the Dunes room and another one in Fish at the Pond where my girlfriend joined me. Both rooms were absolutely spot on, super clean, with a reasonable priced minibar and Wifi and were nicely decorated. Probably the first place which I would swap for my own flat! Definitely when you take the beach into account which is just around the corner and which you can view from the Dunes room (also from Waves if you get this room). Every room has its own charm from what I can tell but the biggest selling point in this place are two are other things - the service and the breakfast. I have never experienced a friendlier service in a guesthouse/hotel before in my life and that is true for the owners Alan and Jo and for every single one of their lovely staff! And the breakfast... I am still speechless! You get an amazing choice of continental breakfast including fresh fruits, pancakes, muffins, quiche, bread/cereals, yoghurt with an extra special every day that changes daily (so you always are looking forward to a surprise when you stay longer and go down for breakfast) and also freshly-prepared cooked breakfast which I only had once (and was gorgeous!) as I couldn't stop eating all the other stuff first. I can't think about a better place to stay and can highly recommend the Admiralty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have just come back from a three and a half week trip to SA following the England rugby tour. For the first two and a half weeks I stayed in chain hotels, all very nice etc but this place finished the tour with a bang.
Where can I start. I was in the Waves room which was fantastic, clean and the sort of place I would be happy to live in. Free wireless (essential for work), tea, coffee etc all in place.
The breakfast is worth the price alone. Full running buffet of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese etc and a cooked to order fry-up. None of the eating greasy bacon that has been hanging around for four hours that you get in big hotels.
The staff were fantastic - on the first day I caught in a PE downpour and Marelisse at reception dried my coat out for me. Owners were great, sociable without being in your face like they can be at some guest houses. Just the right balance.
Also only a short walk from the beach and the restaurants in PE. Can't praise it highly enough and would recommend it to anybody.
I know I will be going back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port elizabeth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

we recently spent some time at this beach house and what a fantastic place it is. i highly recommend this beautiful guest house with top quality tasteful finishes, very friendly and helpful staff and a breakfast to die for.thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: all the suites are great but for a beautiful sea view, book upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfballie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Far Too little if I Rate this Place Excellent.
We have stayed at the best properties across the globe but never felt so much at home and that too at the most unexpected place. The best part about this place is that it has 8 rooms and every guest is taken care of very well. The owners know their guests by their names and are very active in day to day activities which made our stay super comfortable. We had some issues as we had booked the wrong room which exceeded the maximum capacity but without a hitch we were sorted. A well spread breakfast is what we look forward to and we were not disappointed. The breakfast area/ Lounge is what i liked most about this place. Rooms and Bathrooms are very well appointed with all the modern day luxury - Absolutely 5 star.
All in all it would be rather impossible to find a shortcoming in this property and the hospitality.
I would strongly recommend this property and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamzapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at this lovely, clean place. Our room (Waves) is nicely decorated and very comfortable with a lounge. Every room has an own entrance and is individually decorated. The breakfast was delicious and you can choose: fruits, a fresh tarte, eggs, bacon, different jams, cheese, cold cuts, juices, cereals, joghurt and fresh coffee. The breakfast room and the pool area are cozy and inviting. The owners are nice and will give you tipps for the area. You have to try this place, it is also very close to the beach, we will come back again, when we are in PE. Absolutely perfect, more is not possible. Thanks a lot to the owners.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy20112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

A stunning room and with every single little extra detail thought through. I appreciated the generosity of the hosts to provide the extra details which other B&Bs dont offer (even in the same price range) It costs nothing to offer tea on arrival or leave a good coffee machine in the lounge, or leave ear buds and torch/ matches/ candles etc in the room. Or tie towels with fresh sprigs of lavender etc. For us it was the first and only B&B which left plates and cutlery in the room in case we wanted to eat back in the B&B. We sat on the outside patio in front of our room and enjoyed some delicious take away one evening and didnt feel akward as we had silverware and lovely plates and even champagne glasses!! There is salt and pepper and sauces in the reception which was freely available too.
The other reviewers have commented on the lovely gardens and pool area which is gorgeous and the breakfast room is heavenly. French music playing, blueberry cakes, pankcakes, large selection of fresh fruit and cereals, sliced cold meats, lots of cheese etc makes for one of the best breakfasts on offer on the Garden Route.... and that was just the cold breakfast!! After scimping and being forced to ask for a bit of cheese etc in other places it was great to have a place where we got value for money and it was delicious too. Hot breakfasts were excellent too.
Highly recommended.
We also are aware that some folk had issues with the petrol station across the road but we slept soundly and didnt hear anything

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneStefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Property: Admiralty Beach House
Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 meters walking distance to the beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is a 5 minute drive away. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing