We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Property Super Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiralty Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Admiralty Beach House
Ranked #1 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Property Super Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Far Too little if I Rate this Place Excellent.
We have stayed at the best properties across the globe but never felt so much at home and that too at the most unexpected place. The best part about this place is that it has 8 rooms and every guest is taken care of very well. The owners know their guests by their names and are very active in day to day activities which made our stay super comfortable. We had some issues as we had booked the wrong room which exceeded the maximum capacity but without a hitch we were sorted. A well spread breakfast is what we look forward to and we were not disappointed. The breakfast area/ Lounge is what i liked most about this place. Rooms and Bathrooms are very well appointed with all the modern day luxury - Absolutely 5 star.
All in all it would be rather impossible to find a shortcoming in this property and the hospitality.
I would strongly recommend this property and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamzapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
121
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at this lovely, clean place. Our room (Waves) is nicely decorated and very comfortable with a lounge. Every room has an own entrance and is individually decorated. The breakfast was delicious and you can choose: fruits, a fresh tarte, eggs, bacon, different jams, cheese, cold cuts, juices, cereals, joghurt and fresh coffee. The breakfast room and the pool area are cozy and inviting. The owners are nice and will give you tipps for the area. You have to try this place, it is also very close to the beach, we will come back again, when we are in PE. Absolutely perfect, more is not possible. Thanks a lot to the owners.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy20112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

A stunning room and with every single little extra detail thought through. I appreciated the generosity of the hosts to provide the extra details which other B&Bs dont offer (even in the same price range) It costs nothing to offer tea on arrival or leave a good coffee machine in the lounge, or leave ear buds and torch/ matches/ candles etc in the room. Or tie towels with fresh sprigs of lavender etc. For us it was the first and only B&B which left plates and cutlery in the room in case we wanted to eat back in the B&B. We sat on the outside patio in front of our room and enjoyed some delicious take away one evening and didnt feel akward as we had silverware and lovely plates and even champagne glasses!! There is salt and pepper and sauces in the reception which was freely available too.
The other reviewers have commented on the lovely gardens and pool area which is gorgeous and the breakfast room is heavenly. French music playing, blueberry cakes, pankcakes, large selection of fresh fruit and cereals, sliced cold meats, lots of cheese etc makes for one of the best breakfasts on offer on the Garden Route.... and that was just the cold breakfast!! After scimping and being forced to ask for a bit of cheese etc in other places it was great to have a place where we got value for money and it was delicious too. Hot breakfasts were excellent too.
Highly recommended.
We also are aware that some folk had issues with the petrol station across the road but we slept soundly and didnt hear anything

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneStefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Beautiful stay, 5 star venue with 5 star service. The food is out of this world. Definately one of the guest houses that we have stayed in. A PE must.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffee Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you are going to PE - there is only one place to stay the Admiralty guesthouse! This guesthouse is beautifully decorated and very well run. I breathed a sigh of relief after our long drive when i was shown to a beautifully decorated room with a big white fluffy bed with crisp white linen complete with satellite tv and fluffy bathrobes. The bathroom with its marble finishing and big bath is so luxurious and the breakfast we were presented with the next morning was 5 star, put it this way The Admiralty was my sanctuary for 2 days. I would highly recommend this guesthouse which is also in a great location - only 2 min walk from the beach and 5 min drive from shops and restaurants. Thanks guys for your excellent hospitality Admiralty - we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Next time you need to go to PE, I can without a doubt recommend the Admiralty Beach House. The service is world-class and nothing is too much trouble and the bonus is – very competitive, almost unbelievable rates for a 5 star guesthouse! Josephine (the owner) has a hands-on approach and ensures that guests are well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nel2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at Admiralty Beach House in April this year and I would highly recommend it for families or any traveller for that matter.
We stayed in the beautiful Poolside suite which was spacious and sunny and very well appointed. It has a bathroom with both bath and shower and the convenience of 2 toilets.
Breakfast was one of the best we have had in any establishment during our travels. The selection was so vast and the presentation stylish,served on the pooldeck where we lingered for most of the mornings. The outdoor areas of Admiralty are very beautiful with many mosaics and water features, complemented by a lush tropical garden. The owners are art lovers and the interiors boast beautiful and original works of art, some of which are on sale.
The staff are clearly well trained and experienced, friendly and most helpful. We are really looking forward to our next visit as it was a real home from home stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Property: Admiralty Beach House
Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 meters walking distance to the beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is a 5 minute drive away. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing