We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite B&B ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carslogie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carslogie House
Ranked #3 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite B&B ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I returned for our 5th visit to Carslogie House in Oct 2011. Yet again, we were extremley pleased with our stay, nothing is too much trouble for the most wonderful and friendly staff, the whole house is a delight, the rooms are all large and airy, the bed, as always, the most comfortable during the whole of our stay in South Africa - and we did travel around, and the breakfasts really are superb. We cannot wait for our next trip, which would not be complete without a stay at Christines!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebraMoorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
171
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hospitality and Service were simply superb!
The rooms were extraordinary tasteful furnished.
We felt welcomed immediately and experienced a familiar atmosphere.
erikawisser@krisch.co.za

Room Tip: All rooms superb, depend on needs and preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was another return trip back to Port Elizabeth and Carslogie B&B. The owner and staff were friendly and great as usual. There was plenty of privacy and exceptionally clean rooms. The pool is always clean and refreshing. I will book my stay here the next time that I am lucky enough to return to the Port Elizabeth area. Thank you for making me feel at home for so long.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at Carslogie in April and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are luxurious and beautifully situated around the swimming pool. They are clean and comfortable and very spacious. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made a great dinner recommendation. The breakfast is very tasty and substantial and set us up well for the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danrobbo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

I would like to comment the following regarding with the mentioned apartment:
•Port Elizabeth is one of the most beautifully places where I has been (I'm from Mexico).
•I have rented the apartment by 3 weeks, I never had any problems on it.
•The apartment's owner always was in touch with me.
•The parking was never an issue because the vehicle can be left at the front of the apartment without any problem.
The apartment owner have provided me one cell phone and internet wireless stick in order to be more comfortable on the apartment.

Room Tip: Check first the Carslogie B&B House
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgeluna_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

The apartment in the Bliss block of flats is an absolute gem! I am a frequent traveller going on business trips countrywide. I travel to PE on a regular basis and Carslogie guesthouse, and especially the Bliss apartment, is my choice of preference for accommodation in the PE area. A room in a guest house does not always meet the demands of a business traveller. The Bliss apartment is spotless clean, very comfortable, modern and located close to the beach. The apartment provides ample space for business purposes and is well located for leisure activities. It feels like home away from home. Christine, Kerry and the staff attend to every need in a very efficient, warm and friendly way. Sam is adding to the "feel good" experience when enjoying this superb hospitality during a business trip or a holiday. Annette

Room Tip: Privacy and spacious for business travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aadelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We visit Carslogie yearly for our holiday because we can gaurantee an enjoyable time.Our room is large and beautifully furnished with its own patio overlooking the large pool and garden.We enjoy a hearty breakfast in the dining room adjoining the guest lounge which if we are unlucky to have a rainy day we can sit and relax reading many interesting books Carslogie is close to the beach and a golf course so plenty of excercise to be had.The staff are so friendly and our host Christine and manageress Kerri spoil us and look after all our needs.We are so happy sitting on our patio with a drink enjoying the garden and look forward to visiting again next year.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms on ground level with own patio .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deacon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.4 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.4 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carslogie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carslogie House

Property: Carslogie House
Address: 11 7th Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carslogie House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Carslogie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carslogie House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing