We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveley B&B in excellent location”
Review of Carslogie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carslogie House
Ranked #4 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2011

First time in Carslogie. We stayed in an excellent room with luxurious finishing. Beautiful bathroom.Satelite TV. Large and deep pool. All units (5) are around this pool. This might affect privacy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 289 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights after a week of camping! just was I needed- relaxing, restful and luxurious surroundings. All the rooms are around the pool and Sam the dog comes to visit. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly and full of information about the area. great location within easy walking of shops and entertainment, also the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lankalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

My wife and I together with two friends stopped at Carslogie both before and after a visit to a game lodge just outside PE. It provided all we needed from such an establishment -excellent spotlessly clean accommodation around a sun drenched pool with thoughtful attentive staff overseen by a helpful owner, Situated just back from the Summersand sea front we also liked the opportunity to walk to local restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyTraveller062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I do all the bookings for all my collegues visiting Port Elizabeth, and so far they all say, that Carslogie is the best place that they have stayed at. They siad that the rooms are always clean, and very comfortable, and that the staff are very friendly.
They were also very happy with where it is positioned, as it is close to all amenities

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Carslogie House has been a great place to stay and highly recommended. I stayed at this establishment since mid August 2010 thru February 2011 with occasional trips home on a long term business assignment. The owners and the staff were outstanding and especially accommodating. Christine’s full English breakfasts were amazing and I never tired of them. On days that I was unable to partake in the breakfasts due to early work hours Christine would prepare a breakfast tray the night before. Chris kept the large pool clean and inviting. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained and the cable internet in the room was extremely useful. Christine was always very helpful in finding places to go and see. There is a very nice restaurant, De Kelder, the beach and a small shopping center all within easy walking distance of the B&B. Chris and Christine’s kindness and hospitality has been appreciated and will never be forgotten. I will be returning here the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed at Carslogie for four nights and I loved it! The grounds, patio and pool are gorgeous and the place couldn't have been cleaner. The staff was among the warmest and most welcoming people I have ever met and the breakfasts were awesome. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in PE. Thank you to the staff for helping to make my vacation so wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazingblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Though I didn't enjoy PE as much as other places we visited in South Africa, Carslogie was a real find. Very welcoming from the moment you arrive, this delightful B&B is looked after with real love. Charming and thoughtful touches in the room, hearty breakfast and comfortable surroundings. Much better than some anonymous hotel and a wonderful way of recovering from the horrendous guesthouse we stayed in in Knysna. We stayed only two nights but wished it had been longer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richtapestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carslogie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carslogie House

Address: 11 7th Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $74 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carslogie House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Carslogie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carslogie House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing