We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Kathu, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wonderfull stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The people are great, they welcomed us with warmly hands. very very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luleka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    69
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
38
39
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Great lodge with various facilities: big parking space, a huge living room with leather sofas, tv, open fire place, a big pool to swim in, a jacuzzi, a braai area, massive kitchen, free internet and WIFI.
I stayed one night at 99 miles in a room with shared bathroom. The appartment is huge - kitchen, living room, bathroom to share with one other room. The staff is incredible friendly and helpful. More than a backpacker needs is available for a very good price!
Thank you Evangelista! :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janahille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at 99 miles in a room with shared bathroom. Because no one was staying in the other room of "our" appartment we had the appartment, kitchen, living room, bathroom for our own. It was great. the Staff is veeery friendly and helpful. We felt very safe since they have a car and entrance gate where you can only enter with the PIN.
WiFi is also available and a computer station. All a backpacker need is available for a good price :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey's Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

As the title of my review says, I haven't really stayed here all that long, but I really liked my stay. Very helpful staff, spacious area, looks far more like an expensive hotel at the entrance than a hostel. Massive kitchen, nice lounge area... dorms are small but manageable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

From the first call, the staff was welcoming. Including helping me with coffee in the morning! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Thanx Lendl you and your team were great!!!Felt at home right from the start and all my friends that were with me are commending you and your team on a memorable weekend!!!Keep it up!!!!Still the best value for money and will stay with you guys anytime in future!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cybermarce, General Manager at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you Enver for your great review, the 99 Miles team are always ready to show our guests a good time from booking one of our many activities eg Game drives, scuba diving, sandboarding, surfing to showing you PE's vibrant nightlife. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

How can they advertise a pool and a jacuzzi, when the pool has been empty (and filled with green slime) since JULY! Unbelievable. The jacuzzi was also empty. Everywhere you go in this place there are signs saying if you cancel in less that 7 days before your booking you forfeit 100% of the fee for the whole stay you booked! These signs are taped to the fridge, to the door of your room, everywhere. That seriously says something about how afraid they are of people wanting to cut short their stay (like we did). Anyway they can't enforce an illegal term like this - if the hotel is not "as described" they are the ones who have breached the agreement, not you! So we didn't pay the illegal forfeit charge, and we got the hell out...avoid.

p.s. one proviso is that if you are a backpacker looking to stay somewhere cheap, then you may not mind the pool of green slime. I will say that we rented one of the apartments and it was HUGE, but when you looked closer little things were amiss everywhere - wires hanging out of the wall, rubbish in odd corners, that kind of thing...this place could be really nice if the owners just made an effort to smarten things up and FILLED THE POOL. Their excuse that there was a drought in PE was just rubbish - every where else I went had a clean sparkling pool!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cybermarce, General Manager at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your review.

I acknowledge that our pool was not maintained to the required standard, and that our jacuzzi was not filled due to the fact that water restrictions were enforced in the Eastern Cape because of drought. We have taken it upon ourselves to be concious of the water crisis and have tried to conserve in many ways. The pool we realised was becoming a problem as you mentioned so we dealt with it and am pleased to say that we have a beautiful sparkling pool again which was put to good use over the long, hot summer months.

The intention of displaying our cancellation policy is merely to inform guests, but I do understand that it may have been over emphasised, which was really not the intention.

I hope that you would visit us again and this time enjoy the facilities that 99Miles has to offer.

Regards,

Marcelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.6 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 73 in Port Elizabeth
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Port Elizabeth

Property: Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Address: 4 Jenvey Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Vibe Port Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth has luxurious and spacious accommodation at affordable Flashpacker prices! Dorms, Double rooms or private apartments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Island Vibe Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing